Music Is A Mission

To content | To menu | To search

Yesking - Rock This World

Yesking rock this world
Yesking - Rock This World
(CD) Yes King Records YSKCD001, 2008-03-05

Tracklisting :
01. Champion Sound
02. Style Come Different
03. Circles
04. One Of Those Days
05. Crunch
06. War
07. Rock This World
08. 40 Long Days
09. Love Revolution
10. Tomorrow Is Another Day
11. Claude’s Theme
12. Elevate
Bonus Tracks :
13. Love Revolution (Neon Heights Mix)
14. Crunch (Richie Phoe Mix)
15. Style Come Different (Monde Green Mix)

Note : Yesking is Mark Rae (from Rae & Christian) and Rhys Adams

Links :
Download Yes King exclusive "Pairadice Mix" (MP3)
Download Yes King "Mixtape Vol.1" (AAC)

Press Release :
The brainchild of production duo Mark Rae and Rhys Adams, Yes King fuse a melée of styles from hip hop, dancehall, ragga and ska into their own unique brand...

Mark Rae has long been a figurehead of the UK music scene following the success of his first production outfit Rae & Christian, the establishment of the former Grand Central Records and Manchester’s Fat City record shop. Rhys Adams remixed Mark Rae’s ‘Candystripe’ under the name of Frankie Valley subsequently lent his production and writing skills to Mark’s follow-up LP ‘Into The Depths’ and a natural collaborative partnership was cemented.

Rhys and Mark later joined forces while producing the album ‘Two Culture Clash’ for Wall of Sound in 2004 and the pair went to Jamaica to record in situ with local vocalists - the level of activity that followed resulted in a hard-drive full of half-finished rhythms which inspired them to create an album project.

The name Yes King originates from a Jamaican greeting which was bestowed by the Jamaican artists they worked with over the course of making the album - the term was used so often that it captured the essence of the project. The title of the album came from reggae legend Dawn Penn’s track ‘Rock This World’ which sets the tone for the album.

Although conceived in Jamaica Yes King has a strong London feel. There is a rich history of Jamaican music in Ladbroke Grove, the bulk of the album was recorded close by, many London based artists make guest appearances on the album and collaborators Mystro and Sweetie Irie were raised in the area. Ladbroke Grove’s Trellick Tower was chosen for the artwork as it captures the spirit of Yes King and is the most prominent landmark in the area.

The album production consists of a blend of the old and new, bringing the best of both worlds together through live instrumentation with the crunchy beats associated with hip hop and R&B, and also by authenticity to its reggae roots through the instrumentation and melody epitomised by the brass. Such diversity has created a truly unique album offering something to young hip hop fans right through to old school reggae lovers.

The album features guest vocalists as eclectic as the production styles and includes performances from Ayak - a 22 year old female singer/rapper who won 2004’s Prince’s Trust Urban Music Awards; Dawn Penn - immortalised by her dancehall classic ‘No, No, No’; Veba - one of the UK’s finest female vocalists who appeared on both Rae & Christian albums; Tor - an East London based female rapper described by Ras Kwame as "One of the sickest lyricists the UK has to offer"; Mystro - arguably the UK’s finest lyricist with a critically acclaimed debut album under his belt; Kenny Knots - a UK based dancehall artist with a string of top ten hits to his name; Sweetie Irie - who has been at the forefront of the UK Ragga scene since the eighties collaborating with artists such as Ian Brown and Gorillaz; Baby Chann - the only female member of legendary UK bashment crew Suncycle; Prezident Brown - original Jamaican reggae deejay of Hi Power Soundsystem and Pete Simpson - a vocalist from Sheffield who has worked with artists such as Joey Negro and Jon Cutler.


Stay informed of all things Paris DJs and beyond thanks to our Twitter news

Comments are closed

You might also like

Paris DJs Private Record Store new arrivals & back in stock vinyl #1

Our little record store in the north-east of Paris is slowly but surely becoming a thing, with more and more friendly people coming by to grab the vinyl (or CDs) they've reserved on our discogs page. We were known for welcoming bands and artists to "studio time & diner", now diggers...
Funkadelic - Reworked By Detroiters

Funkadelic - Reworked By Detroiters (CD/12"/3LP, Westbound, 2017)

Paris DJs' history with George Clinton & the Parliament/Funkadelic crew is a very long one… It culminated first in 2006 when we were asked to cook some exclusive remixes (including a mad dub rework from Grant Phabao, approved by the Dr. Funkenstein himself, you can still grab the free download...