Music Is A Mission

To content | To menu | To search

Various - Unfold Presents - Tru Thoughts Hip Hop

Unfold presents Tru Thoughts Hip Hop
Various - Unfold Presents - Tru Thoughts Hip Hop
(CD/Digital) Unfold/Tru Thoughts UNFOLDCD006, 2008-11-10

Tracklisting :
01. Quantic - En Focus feat. Trinidad (Pilooski Remix)
02. Freddie Cruger Aka Red Astaire - I Feel Quote Whatever feat. Swingfly
03. Up Hygh - Keep On feat. Phonte And Rapper Big Pooh Of Little Brother
04. Tm Juke - Get It Together feat. Bread And Water
05. Hint - I, Silverfish feat. Rup
06. Quantic - Blow Your Horn feat. Ohmega Watts
07. The Bamboos - Get In The Scene feat. Ohmega Watts
08. Quantic - Primate Boogaloo feat. Aspects
09. Lanu - It's Time feat. Kero One
10. Life - Call Me Money
11. Milez Benjiman - Soundcheckin'
12. Rup - Step
13. Tm Juke - Wilderness Kids feat. Rup
14. Dirty Diggers - So Grown Up feat. Nostalgia 77
15. Dirty Diggers Presents The Sticky Kids - Don't Blame The Parents
16. Me&You - Space Lizards feat. Young Max

Links :
Buy it soon on (official) (fansite)

Press Release :
For the first time ever, and to celebrate the launch of Unfold Records, you can now feast your ears on all the heaviest hip hop stylings from the massively diverse catalogue of Tru Thoughts (and hip hop sister label Zebra Traffic) on one essential jam-packed CD.

'Unfold Presents: Tru Thoughts Hip Hop' is the first compilation from the Tru Thoughts stable to have an obvious genre theme, but this being Tru Thoughts' twist on hip hop as it stands today, the vibe is still hugely eclectic and aims to reflect the open-minded musical policy and crossover of influences embraced by hip hop in its original incarnation. The funk of The Bamboos; Quantic's deep dancefloor mastery; dubstep influences from Me&You; Freddie Cruger's B Boy drums; and the future grooves of Hint and Milez Benjiman combine with the vocals of Phonte from Little Brother; French rapper Trinidad; Ohmega Watts from the USA; and Life, Dirty Diggers and Rup representing the finest of the UK.

Releasing a killer hip hop compilation that showcases a wealth of talent across the broad hip hop spectrum has been at the top of the Tru Thoughts wish list for years. Thanks to the sheer level of time and commitment invested in the day-to-day business of developing and releasing music by individual artists, however, this retrospective has never quite found its niche in the whirlwind that is the Tru Thoughts release schedule. Cue Unfold Records - the newly re-launched imprint from the Tru Thoughts label network - which has been set up as a platform to put out compilations of interesting, creative, independent music, and proved to be the perfect vehicle to take this almighty collection of hip hop to the masses.

With a Pilooski remix of Quantic's "En Focus" featuring Trinidad alongside classic joints like The Bamboos' acclaimed hit "Get In The Scene" featuring Ohmega Watts, , 'Unfold Presents: Tru Thoughts Hip Hop' is a must-have compilation that weaves an unpredictable and stunning sonic journey.


Stay informed of all things Paris DJs and beyond thanks to our Twitter news

Comments are closed

You might also like

Vincent Ahehehinnou - Best Woman

Vincent Ahehehinnou - Best Woman (LP, Analog Africa, 2017)

The latest Analog Africa reissue is up for pre-order on Bandcamp! The album, originally a 1978 release by Orchestre Poly Rythmo's singer Vincent Ahehehinnou, is rare-as-shit, worth nearly 4 figures if you can find a decent copy. There's only 4 tunes, two afrofunk monsters and two ballads, but...
Shadow - Sweet Sweet Dreams

Shadow - Sweet Sweet Dreams (CD/2LP, Analog Africa, 2016)

The 22nd Analog Africa release is a beauty people couldn't begin to imagine how the feeling would be to actually be playing it - until now. As rare as it's insanely great, this long-awaited reissue is the holy grail of Shadow albums. The one featuring the monster cosmic soca disco track 'Let’s Get...