Music Is A Mission

To content | To menu | To search

Various - Soulshaker Vol.5

Soulshaker Vol 5
Various - Soulshaker Vol.5
(CD/LP/MP3) Record Kicks RKX024CD/LP, 2008-10-27

Tracklisting :
01. Kings Go Forth - One Day *
02. Shaolin Temple Defenders - 7 Deadly Corners *
03. Eli "Paperbouy" Reed - Satisfier
04. Trio Valore - Return Of The Iron Monkey
05. Kokolo - Girls On Film *
06. Unity - I Don't Wanna Change (Nostalgia 77 Remix) *
07. Sharon Jones - Keep On Looking (Kenny Dope Remix) *
08. Zamali - No Luck To Run *
09. Andy Lewis – Devastated (Mr. Comicstore Remix) *
10. Baby Charles - Time Wasting *
11. Osaka Monaurail - Double Up Now
12. Diplomats Of Solid Sound - Trouble Me
13. Sweet Divines - Heckuva Man *
14. Breakestra - Little Miss Funky Sole *
15. New Matersounds - Idle Time (Lack Of Afro Remix)
16. Lee Mcdonald - Ill Do..(Red Astaire Philly Mix) *
(* = Previously Unreleased On CD Format)

Links :

Press Release :
The explosive sound of the new deep funk scene feat rmxs & unreleased by Sharon Jones, Breakestra, New Mastersounds, Baby Charles, Nostalgia77, Eli "paperboy" Reed, Kokolo...

Thanks to planetary success of artists such as Amy Winehouse, Mark Ronson, Sharon Jones and Nicole Willis, everybody's raving about the new funk & soul revival. The new SoulShaker volume is a good reminder of why the new deep funk sound is so popular these days. Almost all tracks here see the light on a CD format for the first time. We included massive remixes like Kenny Dope's amazing rework of Keep on lookin by legendary Sharon Jones and The Dap-Kings, Japanese Mr.Comicstore's rework of Devastated from Andy Lewis's debut solo album feat Loleatta Holloway on vocal, Tru Thoughts hero Nostalgia 77 deep funk edit of "I don't wanna change" by Birmingham combo UNITY with Lizzy Parks on vocals. From the New Mastresounds Re::Mixed album we picked up the killer single "Idle Time" by Lack Of Afro, Freddie Cruger aka Red Asteire gives Lee McDonald's classic "I'll Do Anything For You" a groovy Philly touch. You'll also find new US funk sensation Eli "paperboy" Reed with smashing single "The Satisfier", Kokolo with an afrobeat revisitation of Duran Duran 80s hit "Girls on film", a new track from Stones Throw's Breakestra long awaited new album as well as a non album cut from Baby Charles, ex Style Council Steve White's new project Trio Valore, Japanese funk legends Osaka Monaurail and many surprises like the new northern soul scene sensation Kings go Forth, Bordeaux Shaolin Temple Defenders produced by Eddie Roberts and the NYC Dansette's spin off Sweet Divines... this is the real deal.. see you on the dancefloor!



Stay informed of all things Paris DJs and beyond thanks to our Twitter news

Comments are closed

You might also like

Vincent Ahehehinnou - Best Woman

Vincent Ahehehinnou - Best Woman (LP, Analog Africa, 2017)

The latest Analog Africa reissue is up for pre-order on Bandcamp! The album, originally a 1978 release by Orchestre Poly Rythmo's singer Vincent Ahehehinnou, is rare-as-shit, worth nearly 4 figures if you can find a decent copy. There's only 4 tunes, two afrofunk monsters and two ballads, but...
Shadow - Sweet Sweet Dreams

Shadow - Sweet Sweet Dreams (CD/2LP, Analog Africa, 2016)

The 22nd Analog Africa release is a beauty people couldn't begin to imagine how the feeling would be to actually be playing it - until now. As rare as it's insanely great, this long-awaited reissue is the holy grail of Shadow albums. The one featuring the monster cosmic soca disco track 'Let’s Get...