Music Is A Mission

To content | To menu | To search

Various - Sitar Beat - Indian Style Heavy Funk Vol.II

Sitar Beat 2
Various - Sitar Beat - Indian Style Heavy Funk Vol.II
(CD/2xLP) Guerilla Reissues/Openzic SB002, 2007-08-03

Tracklisting :
01. Babla & His Orchestra - The Witness
02. Kalyanji Anandji feat. Asha Bhosle - Awara Sadiyon Se
03. S.D. Narang - Everybody Dance With Me
04. Kalyani Anandji Feat. Lata Mangeshkar & Mohd. Rafi - Wada Karle Sajna
05. Kalyani Anandji feat. Asha Bhosle - Niahon Ka Adaon Ka
06. R.D. Burman - Freak Out Music
07. Laxmikant Pyarelal - Dushmun Title Music
08. Kalyanji Anaadji feat. Lata Mangeshkar, Asha Bhosle & Mahendra Kapoor - Pyar Zindagi Hai
09. Usha Khanna - Tera Jasia Pyara Koi Nahin
10. Hemant Bhosle Feat. Asha Bhosle - Phir Teri Yaad
11. Ajit Singh Feat. Asha Bhosle - Main Akeli Raat Jawan
12. Laxmikant Pyarelal Feat. Amit Kumar & Sheiendra Singh - Bekaraar Bekaraar Bekaraar Kiya
13. R.D. Burman Feat. Asha Bhosle - Aaj Mera Dil
14. Laxmikant Pyarelal Feat. Mohd. Rafi & Chrus - Dard-E-Dil
15. Keith Kanga - Butterfly (Version Two)
16. Kalyanji Anandji Feat. Amit Kumar, Kanchan & Chorus - Laila O Laila

Vinyl Artwork :
Sitar Beat 2

Press Release :
Following the success of the first Sitar Beat compilation CD, a collection of Indian and Indian-inspried European funky selections from the 60s and 70s, the crew knew they had to come deep for the sequel.

So for Volume 2, they go straight to heart of India with some of the rarest, and best tracks recorded between the years of 1970 and 1984. Nearly all of these tracks are appearing on CD for the first time.

Sixteen tracks of rare and funky Indian flavor, blending heavy beats with the sounds of the sitar and the inimitable vocal sounds of beloved Indian singers such as the ubiquitous Asha Bhosle and producers/songwriters like Kalyanji Ananji and R. D. Burman.

Most of the tracks are culled from Bollywood sound tracks from the 70s and early 80s. Enormously popular, often wild and packed with action and romance, these films put the intense music of star composers like Burman and Kalyanji & Anandji at the forefront. The strange, psychedelic sounds possess their own cultural mish-mash of flavors - combining traditional Indian instrumentation and melodies with film music's intensity, and incorporating styles from American/Western music from about 5 years or so behind the trend.

All this to say – expect funk, psychedelic rock, disco and proto-electro to jump out from the grooves of Sitar Beat Volume 2 and hit you harder than a mouth full of spicy masala. This is soul from the Sub-continent at it's best!


Stay informed of all things Paris DJs and beyond thanks to our Twitter news

Comments are closed

You might also like

Paris DJs Private Record Store new arrivals & back in stock vinyl #1

Our little record store in the north-east of Paris is slowly but surely becoming a thing, with more and more friendly people coming by to grab the vinyl (or CDs) they've reserved on our discogs page. We were known for welcoming bands and artists to "studio time & diner", now diggers...
Funkadelic - Reworked By Detroiters

Funkadelic - Reworked By Detroiters (CD/12"/3LP, Westbound, 2017)

Paris DJs' history with George Clinton & the Parliament/Funkadelic crew is a very long one… It culminated first in 2006 when we were asked to cook some exclusive remixes (including a mad dub rework from Grant Phabao, approved by the Dr. Funkenstein himself, you can still grab the free download...