Music Is A Mission

To content | To menu | To search

Various - Shapes 08:02

Shapes Compilation 2008 Vol 2
Various - Shapes 08:02
(2xCD/4 track DJ promo download) Tru Thoughts TRUCD181, 2008-10-20

Tracklisting CD1 :
01. Lizzy Parks - Prayer
02. Kinny - 2546 Nice Feat. Unforscene
03. The Bamboos - I Don't Wanna Stop Feat. Kylie Auldist
04. Unforscene - Alright
05. Hint - One Woman Army Feat. Laura Vane
06. Milez Benjiman - Hold Your Head High
07. Spanky Wilson & The Quantic Soul Orchestra - Waiting For Your Touch (Domu Remix)
08. Natural Self - In The Morning (Version)
09. Hot 8 Brass Band - It's Real (Lack Of Afro Remix)
10. Saravah Soul - Oil Is Thicker Than Blood
11. Belleruche - Reflection (Trus' Me Remix)
12. Tm Juke - Pencils For Dolphins (Wyndham Earl Mix)
13. Kylie Auldist - Make Me Want More
14. Belleruche - You're Listening To The Worlds
15. Quantic Presenta Flowering Inferno - Dub Del Pacifico

Tracklisting CD2 :
01. Me & You - Last Night (Bassnectar Remix)
02. Natural Self - The Rising (Bullion Remix)
03. Hot 8 Brass Band - Get Up (Diesler Remix)
04. Quantic - Disco Caribe
05. Barakas - Kes
06. Me & You - Hoop Loop (Solo Moderna Mix)
07. Tm Juke - Come Away Feat. Sophie Faricy (Zumen Mix)
08. Hot 8 Brass Band - Jisten To Me (Hint Remix)
09. Tm Juke And The Jack Baker Trio - Omak Besar (Big Waves)
10. Lizzy Parks - Seven Day Fool (Instrumental)
11. The Bamboos - Amen Brother
12. Me & You - Wouri River (Redeyes Remix)

Tracklisting 4 Track DJ Promo Download :
01. Natural Self - The Rising (Bullion Remix)
02. Belleruche - Reflection (Trus' Me Remix)
03. Spanky Wilson & The Quantic Soul Orchestra - Waiting For Your Touch (Domu Remix)
04. Me & You - Wouri River (Redeyes Remix)

4 Track DJ Promo Review :

Natural Self - The Rising (Bullion Remix)
A CRUNCHY remix fusing psychedelic funk & breakbeats on a devastated warfield. Full TRIPPING - as if The Chemical Brothers had been hooked on funk and hip hop from day one...

Spanky Wilson & The QSO - Waiting For Our Touch (Domu Remix)
A soul neoclassic remade into disco - you wouldn't suspect that from broken beat after Domu. Push the bass to the limit and watch the floor go nuts!

Belleruche - Reflection (Trus' Me Remix)
It's quite unusual to hear Kathrin deBoer dressed in 4/4 classy housey beats - which should give ideas to many producers soon... Also available on the 'Black Gold EP'.

Me&You - Wouri River (Redeyes Mix)
Can you get enough of Me&You? Rob Luis & TM Juke have stumbled upon a formula for making the dancefloor crazy - bootay, feets and mind! Their afro drum'n'bass track 'Wouri River' gets the heavyweight treatment from Southwest of France's drumaster Redeyes (Bingo Beats).

Links :
Buy it soon on (official) (fansite)

Press Release :
For the first time in the Tru Thoughts ‘Shapes' compilation series, the upcoming ‘Shapes 08:02' is a bumper double CD affair, featuring an amazing 27 tracks in total, with CD1 more geared towards the listening experience and CD2 aimed squarely at the DJs and clubbers.

‘Shapes 08:02' covers an expansive selection of music from the brightest talent on the Tru Thoughts roster, and, as always, includes a handful of exclusive tracks and a host of killer remixes from the likes of Domu, Marc Mac (4Hero) and Lack Of Afro.

This collection kicks off with Lizzy Parks' "Prayer" (a song which could have been written for a Bond movie with its lush orchestrated strings and big brass section, and is taken from her forthcoming album ‘Raise The Roof') and ends with Redeyes delivering a stomping Afro influenced drum'n'bass remix of "Wouri River" by Me&You. A great variety of music connects the sonic journey between them: the future sounds of Hint, Milez Benjiman and remixers Domu and Bassnectar nestle alongside the authentic flavour of New Orleans from Hot 8 Brass Band; the sound of strictly live music from The Bamboos and TM Juke And The Jack Baker Trio alongside the soulful, unique voices of Kinny, Lizzy Parks, Kylie Auldist and Kathrin deBoer of Belleruche.

Kinny's "2546 Nice!", produced by Unforscene, provides a sneak preview of her forthcoming album, which isn't out until 2009, and this compilation also gives a first ever CD release to three of the most sought-after tracks on the recent digital-only ‘Hot 8 Brass Band - Remixes' album. On CD2 you'll find a totally exclusive Quantic track entitled "Disco Caribe", dancefloor bombs from The Bamboos and Bonobo's club-centric alias, Barakas, and a storming, exclusive Bullion remix of Natural Self's "The Rising".


Stay informed of all things Paris DJs and beyond thanks to our Twitter news

Comments are closed

You might also like

Paris DJs Private Record Store new arrivals & back in stock vinyl #1

Our little record store in the north-east of Paris is slowly but surely becoming a thing, with more and more friendly people coming by to grab the vinyl (or CDs) they've reserved on our discogs page. We were known for welcoming bands and artists to "studio time & diner", now diggers...
Funkadelic - Reworked By Detroiters

Funkadelic - Reworked By Detroiters (CD/12"/3LP, Westbound, 2017)

Paris DJs' history with George Clinton & the Parliament/Funkadelic crew is a very long one… It culminated first in 2006 when we were asked to cook some exclusive remixes (including a mad dub rework from Grant Phabao, approved by the Dr. Funkenstein himself, you can still grab the free download...