Music Is A Mission

To content | To menu | To search

Various - Original Raw Soul

Various Original Raw Soul
Various - Original Raw Soul
(CD) Instinct Records EX331, 1996-06-11

Tracklisting :
01. Soul-Saints Orch. - Working On The Line
02. The Woo Woo's - Spooky Grinder
03. The Whitefield Bros. - Fifty Yards Of Soul
04. The Poets of Rhythm - Funky Train
05. Organized Raw Funk - O.R.F. Pt.I&II
06. Bo Baral's Excursionists - Funky Sex Machine
07. The Whitefield Bros. - Choking On A Piece Of Meat
08. Bus People Express - Augusta Georgia (HEre I Come)
09. The Woo Woo's - Ooh Ooh..!
10. The Poets of Rhythm - Hotpie's Popcorn pt.I
11. Soul-Saints Orch. - Bag Of Soul
12. The Mighty Continentals - Sticky Sticky Sock-A-Poo
13. Unknown Artist - It's Your Time

Info :
In the spirit of Rhino's In Yo' Face series, Instinct Records returns to the funk/soul arena with Original Raw Soul. This compilation arrives with an arsenal of J.B. inspired tunes, culled from the archives of seminal soul label Hotpie & Candy. Original Raw Soul features tracks that have been selected from the vaults of Hotpie & Candy and feature some of the most slamming funk/soul that have never been widely available in the U.S. Amongst the artist featured are The Poets of Rhythm, whose last full length was available on Germany's Soulciety Records and easily available here in the U.S., as well as Bo Boral, the cat who's been with the label since the start. Also featured is a cover of the Isley Brother's song "It's Your Thing".


Stay informed of all things Paris DJs and beyond thanks to our Twitter news

Comments are closed

You might also like

Shadow - Sweet Sweet Dreams

Shadow - Sweet Sweet Dreams (CD/2LP, Analog Africa, 2016)

The 22nd Analog Africa release is a beauty people couldn't begin to imagine how the feeling would be to actually be playing it - until now. As rare as it's insanely great, this long-awaited reissue is the holy grail of Shadow albums. The one featuring the monster cosmic soca disco track 'Let’s Get...
Papa Chango - The Lost Moon of Bellaris

Papa Chango - The Lost Moon of Bellaris (Limited LP, self-released, 2016) - Exclusive album stream

Mebourne-based Papa Chango put out in 2012 the band a massive cinematic Ethio-funk album, 'The Matador'. After being featured in four episodes of our podcast and one of our afro compilations, they released in 2014 an epic 4-tracks EP , 'Enter The Dragonfly'. They're now back with a new great record,...