Music Is A Mission

To content | To menu | To search

Various - Motel Lovers : Southern Soul From The Chitlin' Circuit

Motel Lovers
Various - Motel Lovers : Southern Soul From The Chitlin' Circuit
(CD) Trikont US0363, 2007-06-11

Tracklisting :
01. Bobby Rush - Night Fishin'
02. Sir Charles Jones - Friday
03. Marvin Sease - Motel Lover
04. Big Cynthia - Don't Rock the Boat
05. Dave Mack - Something Ain't Right
06. Floyd Taylor - Hit It Right
07. Peggy Scott-Adams - If It Ain't Broke
08. O.B. Buchana - Ring Ring Hello Click
09. Big Cynthia feat. Mr. David - If You Wanna Get It
10. Sheba Potts-Wright - Slow Roll It
11. Willie Clayton - Three People
12. Bill Coday - On the Chitlin' Circuit
13. Denise Lasalle - Long Dong Silver
14. Barbara Carr - Down Low Brother
15. Lee Fields - I'll Go to Jail
16. Mr. David - Better When You Steal It
17. Gwen McCrae - Psychic Hotline
18. Mel Waiters - Smaller The Club

Links :

Press Release :
Names of superstars, who attract thousands of black families with folding lounge chairs and plastic coolers to their regular blues picnics and outdoor concerts in the city parks of Jackson, Mississippi or Birmingham, Alabama, hit makers, whose songs are played day in, and day out by local blues stations. Who cares if these names are scarcely recognized by a handful of people north of the Mason-Dixon Line? Who cares if they are completely ignored by national radio stations? Who cares if they are marginalized as so-called "Chitlin' Circuit" phenomena by the media? Their southern soul is more than just a regional variation of rhythm 'n blues. Much more: their music, like no other, represents the psyche of the Black American South - somewhere between Jesus and Staggerlee, Baptist church services and sex, the juke joint and the motel.


Stay informed of all things Paris DJs and beyond thanks to our Twitter news

Comments are closed

You might also like

Kologbo - Africa Is The Future

Every 6th of the month is now officially Kologbo day !

Kologbo was Fela's tenor guitar player in Afrika 70. He's been teaching Afrobeat all around the world those last years: Berlin with Afrobeat Academy, Brazil with Abayomy Afrobeat Orquestra Iconili or Amplexos, Chile with Newen Afrobeat, Belgium with World Squad, France with Les Frères Smith or...
Pop Makossa - The Invasive Dance Beat of Cameroon 1976-1984

Various - Pop Makossa - The Invasive Dance Beat of Cameroon 1976-1984 (CD/LP, Analog Africa, 2017)

2017 might be Cameroon's year after its victory at the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations, but German label Analog Africa prove once again they're hands-down the world champions of 1970s African music reissues with this funky and irresistible "Pop Makossa" compilation, focusing on the vintage...