Music Is A Mission

To content | To menu | To search

Various - More Dirty Laundry - The Soul Of Black Country

Sugar Minott
Various - More Dirty Laundry - The Soul Of Black Country
(CD) Trikont US0367, 2008-03-24

Tracklisting :
01. Hell Yes I Cheated - Johnny Adams
02. If Loving You Is Wrong - O.B McClinton
03. Gift For You - Eric Mercury
04. She Thinks I Still Care - Lou Johnson
05. Touch Your Woman - Margie Joseph
06. Talk To My Children's Mama - O.B McClinton
07. Trying To Win Your Love - Joe Tex
08. Everyday I Have To Cry - Arthur Alexander
09. You Must Think My Heart Has Swinging Doors - Vicky Vann
10. Don't Believe Nothing - Ike & Tina Turner | Download MP3
11. I Told My Pillow - Clarence 'Frogman' Henry
12. King Of The Road - Joe Tex
13. Smoke Smoke Smoke - Sammy Davis Jr.
14. Honky Tonk Heaven - Stoney Edwards
15. I'm Movin' On - Clyde McPhatter
16. Tennessee Waltz - Ruth Brown
17. He'll Have To Go - Solomon Burke
18. Point Of No Return - Bobby Womack
19. Son Of Hickory Holler Tramp - O.C. Smith
20. Three Hearts In A Tangle - James Brown
21. Walking The Floor - Junior Parker
22. Someone To Give My Love To - Joe Simon
23. Amos Moses - Clarence 'Gatemouth' Brown
24. Pardon Me (I've Got Someone To Kill) - Andre Williams

Links :

Press Release :
After the overwhelming success of and critical acclaim for the first compilation 'Dirty Laundry', here is 'Volume 2' This anthology is a collection of black approaches to Country music. It not only wants to reveal long forgotten treasures of music history and shed light on the often neglected Country roots of Soul stars but put Afro-American Country musicians into a context beyond their genre.

The main aim is to question implicit truths. Is there something like white and black music? Aren't Country and Soul music much closer than the categorization by media, video channels and record companies would sugggest? And who would maintain that the songs on this album didn't have Soul? However different they may be, all songs have lots of dirty Gospel and Blues elements in them. "Dirty Laundry" so to speak.

It is precisely these impurities and scars, the play with "black" and "white" styles which gives these crossover black Country artists their aesthetic grandeur. Soul needs Country. And vice versa.


Stay informed of all things Paris DJs and beyond thanks to our Twitter news

mrG mrG ·  14 July 2008, 04:00

In the history of Country Music, before Bill Monroe and Merle Travis, look up the guitarist and teacher Arnold Schultz, the inventor, pretty much, of what we today call "Country Pickin'" guitar style. Schultz taught Mose Rager, Mose taught Merle Travis and Doc Watson and the rest just followed.

Mr Schultz was a black coal miner. The guitar, in the early 20th century, was not a country instrument because they thought it could not be made to play the quartertones required for their traditional music. The black musicians found a way around that with bends, slides, pull-release and other techniques, and when this merged with the fiddle tradition, Country Music was born. Far from "cross over", most of these artists have every native right to be in the country genre.

You might also like

Paris DJs Private Record Store new arrivals & back in stock vinyl #1

Our little record store in the north-east of Paris is slowly but surely becoming a thing, with more and more friendly people coming by to grab the vinyl (or CDs) they've reserved on our discogs page. We were known for welcoming bands and artists to "studio time & diner", now diggers...
Funkadelic - Reworked By Detroiters

Funkadelic - Reworked By Detroiters (CD/12"/3LP, Westbound, 2017)

Paris DJs' history with George Clinton & the Parliament/Funkadelic crew is a very long one… It culminated first in 2006 when we were asked to cook some exclusive remixes (including a mad dub rework from Grant Phabao, approved by the Dr. Funkenstein himself, you can still grab the free download...