Music Is A Mission

To content | To menu | To search

Various - Jugglin' with Raw Fusion

Jugglin with Raw Fusion
Various - Jugglin' with Raw Fusion : Urban Visionaries
(CD) Raw Fusion/Creative Vibes CVOS1065, 2006-07-11

Tracklisting :
01. Beatfanatic - Cookin' (Funky 7 inch Mix)
02. A Bossa Elétrica - Quem Vai Devolver Meu Dia (Ennio Styles Remix)
03. Povo - Art of Blakey
04. Boogaloo - You've Gotta Have Freedom
05. Damn - Go to Go
06. Red Astaire - Wildstyle
07. Freddie Cruger - Bap Yo Head (Original Mix)
08. Melo - Moody Melo (Up Hygh Remix)
09. Up Hygh - Gift
10. Freddie Cruger - Hustle (B-Boy Disco Edit)
11. Southside Connection - Make No Mistake (...To The Disco)
12. 12th Floor - Get Down (Domu's Fat Ass Whoopin' Mix)
13. Damn - Leaving This Planet (Yam Who Remix)
14. A Bossa Elétrica - Veja O Sol (Spiritual South Remix)

Press Release :
The third in Creative Vibes' burgeoning Urban Visionaries series is perhaps the most special. Here we highlight the works of Swedish label Raw Fusion and its hip-hop imprint Jugglin'. Known to DJs for its consistent dancefloor bombs and familiar to suave and jazzy compilations for its ability to recontextualise the sounds of yesteryear's barrios and jazz clubs for the discerning listener; the Raw Fusion label is synonymous with quality.

So many compilations these days feature overlapping tracks with played out titles; sometimes it seems the packaging is the only redeeming feature. On 'Jugglin' With Raw Fusion' Creative Vibes presents several tracks previously unreleased on CD and a few yet to be released gems like 'The Art Of Blakey' by Copenhagen's Povo. The label debuted in 2002 with A Bossa Eletrica's 'Tombo In 7/4' in which the spirit of Brasiliance was reached, and bettered in their album and subsequent single releases. Here Melbourne's taste maker Ennio Styles remixes the group's current single 'Quem Vai Devolver Meu Dia'. The label's sample king Beatfantic opens up proceedings with the Latino B-Boy hip twister 'Cookin'' which sets things to a fiery start. Following on from the album's Jazz-samba first third, the label's super band Damn! Present the most radio friendly track of the entire set with the Tom Jones-esque 'Got To Go.' Brand new music is exposed from then on with Jugglin' artists Melo and Up Hygh (currently on 'Hygh' rotation with BBC Radio One jocks Gilles Peterson and Benji B) with their just-released vinyl efforts.

Things don't let up as the album comes to a close. The label's club intensity is brought to the fore, with the deep dubby breaks of Freddie Cruger's 'The Hustle' and Southside Connection's Disco Breakin' 'Make No Mistake' reloading DJs arsenals or just giving them a good chance to go to the loo. After UK Nu-Soul darlings Yam Who and Spiritual South's mammoth remixes, you'll want to start all over again, having gone round the world and back. Selected in full cooperation with the Creative Vibes and Raw Fusion teams and with artwork by Melbourne's in-demand Kano, this is world class stuff, though Australians and New Zealanders will be the only ones who get to sample these tasty cakes.

Urban Visionaries' 'Jugglin' With Raw Fusion' is available now through Raw Fusion/Creative Vibes


Stay informed of all things Paris DJs and beyond thanks to our Twitter news

Comments are closed

You might also like

Paris DJs Private Record Store new arrivals & back in stock vinyl #1

Our little record store in the north-east of Paris is slowly but surely becoming a thing, with more and more friendly people coming by to grab the vinyl (or CDs) they've reserved on our discogs page. We were known for welcoming bands and artists to "studio time & diner", now diggers...
Funkadelic - Reworked By Detroiters

Funkadelic - Reworked By Detroiters (CD/12"/3LP, Westbound, 2017)

Paris DJs' history with George Clinton & the Parliament/Funkadelic crew is a very long one… It culminated first in 2006 when we were asked to cook some exclusive remixes (including a mad dub rework from Grant Phabao, approved by the Dr. Funkenstein himself, you can still grab the free download...