Music Is A Mission

To content | To menu | To search

Various - Jamaica To Toronto - Soul Funk & Reggae 1967-1974

Jamaica To Toronto
Various - Jamaica To Toronto - Soul Funk & Reggae 1967-1974 - Compiled by Sipreano and Light In The Attic
(CD/2xLP) Light In The Attic LITA019, 2006-07-31 (US) 2006-09-04 (Europe)

Tracklisting :
01. Jo-Jo And The Fugitives - Fugitive Song
02. Eddie Spencer - If This Is Love (I'd Rather Be Lonely)
03. Jo-Jo & The Fugitives - Chips-Chicken-Banana Split | MP3
04. Jackie Mittoo - Grand Funk
05. Lloyd Delpratt - Together
06. Cougars - I Wish It Would Rain
07. Johnny Osbourne - African Wake
08. Ram - Love Is The Answer
09. Bob And Wisdom - I Believe In Music
10. The Sheiks - Eternal Love
11. Wayne McGhie And The Sounds Of Joy - Fire (She Need Water)
12. Cougars - Right On
13. Eddie Spencer - You're So Good To Me Baby
14. The Hitch-Hikers - Mr. Fortune
15. Noel Ellis - Memories
16. Wayne McGhie - Here We Go Again

Links :

Press Release :
In 1963, the flight from Jamaica to Toronto was 8 hours. Today it's 3 1/2. Countless people have made the dwindling journey over the years, but in the sixties and seventies there was a new breed of traveler: the finest ska, rocksteady, and reggae recording artists the West Indies have ever produced. We're talking Studio One, Treasure Isle, Trojan, and WIRL veterans Jackie Mittoo, Johnnie Osbourne, Wayne McGhie, Lloyd Delpratt, The Mighty Pope, Noel Ellis, Jo-Jo Bennett, and many more. Arriving in their new Canadian home, these talented singers, songwriters, musicians, and performers simply did what came naturally to them. One by one, they hit the studio and captured some of the hardest tunes this side of Kingston. Jamaica to Toronto: Soul Funk and Reggae 1967-1974, details this crucial sonic migration and stands tall as the second helping of Light In The Attic's new Jamaica to Toronto series, compiled by DJ/Canadian music historian Sipreano, along with Light In The Attic.

Jamaica to Toronto has been over three years in the making, a combination of deep crates, exhaustive research, and foundational tales presented with the same attention to detail as 2004's Wayne McGhie & The Sounds Of Joy release (LITA 008), the initial release in the Jamaica to Toronto series. The CD version of Jamaica to Toronto is accompanied with a 36-page book, exploding with unseen archival materials and extensive liner notes.

The 16 songs on Jamaica to Toronto range from the in-demand Northern Soul attack of Eddie Spencer's "If This Is Love (I'd Rather Be Lonely)" to Jo-Jo And The Fugitives' unknown break-beat monster, "Chips-Chicken-Banana Split". Taken from his 1971 album Wishbone, Mittoo's "Grand Funk" sounds like a Jamaican Santana, while The Hitch-Hikers Featuring The Mighty Pope represent raw funk of the highest order on the righteous "Mr. Fortune". Reggae comes courtesy of dancehall don Johnnie Osbourne's "African Wake" as well as the magical "Memories" from Noel Ellis (whose Summer Records self-titled LP is the next release in Light In The Attic's ongoing Jamaica to Toronto series - with over a half-dozen more titles and numerous 45s slatted for release). Jamaica to Toronto is only the beginning, so sit back and buckle your safety belt; this musical flight is about to take off...


Stay informed of all things Paris DJs and beyond thanks to our Twitter news

Comments are closed

You might also like

Kologbo - Africa Is The Future

Every 6th of the month is now officially Kologbo day !

Kologbo was Fela's tenor guitar player in Afrika 70. He's been teaching Afrobeat all around the world those last years: Berlin with Afrobeat Academy, Brazil with Abayomy Afrobeat Orquestra Iconili or Amplexos, Chile with Newen Afrobeat, Belgium with World Squad, France with Les Frères Smith or...
Pop Makossa - The Invasive Dance Beat of Cameroon 1976-1984

Various - Pop Makossa - The Invasive Dance Beat of Cameroon 1976-1984 (CD/LP, Analog Africa, 2017)

2017 might be Cameroon's year after its victory at the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations, but German label Analog Africa prove once again they're hands-down the world champions of 1970s African music reissues with this funky and irresistible "Pop Makossa" compilation, focusing on the vintage...