Music Is A Mission

To content | To menu | To search

Various - Black Feeling (by members of The Bamboos, Cookin On 3 Burners and many more)

Various Black Feeling
Various - Black Feeling
(CD/LP) Freestyle Records FSRCD027, 2007-09-14

01. Pacific Rhythm Combo - Honky Tonk Popcorn
02. Shirley Eubanks Ensemble - The Blessing Song
03. Esperanto - Night Of The Wolf
04. The Mighty Show-stoppers - Hippy Skippy Moon Strut
05. Sexteto Excellencio - Fire Eater
06. Queens Community Show Band - Ghetto Funk
07. Prince Nafa & His Polynesians - Whatcha Feel Is Whatcha Get
08. Alvarado Rodriguez Trio - Yo Yo
09. Luther Harris - Black Feeling
10. King Hector & The Soul Dynamites - Broasted Or Fried
11. Rusty Garnett - Licking Stick, Licking Stick
12. Zoltar - Executive Party

Links :

Press Release :
Full length album of funk/jazz covers from The Bamboos!

Conceived by label owner Adrian Gibson and made into reality by The Bamboos' Lance Ferguson, the Black Feeling project is all about taking it back to the source - to the music that has inspired, instigated and accompanied many a musical journey over the years. Following a sell out gig at the Jazz Café last year, band leader Lance rounded up a bunch of fellow minded musicians from the Aussie funk scene to collaborate on a covers album. Consisting of members of The Bamboos, Cookin On 3 Burners and many more guest musicians, the tracks are presented under pseudonyms to give the impression of an album you would find whilst digging in a Caribbean record shop or American thrift store.

Kicking things off is the James Brown penned "Honky Tonk Popcorn" - made famous by Bill Doggett (and in turn sampled by The Beatnuts) - taking the familiar bassline but changing up the drums, the familiar organ line should prick up the ears. Already causing a storm on vinyl is "The Blessing Song" - originally a haunting jazz number, here stripped back to the basics and now a jazz-dance dancefloor bomb already road tested at the legendary Messin' Around club session in London. The Al Foster Band's "Night Of The Wolf" gets the treatment next - toughening up the drums and giving it a 2007 feel. Possibly the stand out track of the album is "Hippy Skippy Moon Strut" - a dancefloor favourite at the more discerning clubs around the world, the track is perhaps better known as the sample source for Christine Aguilera's "Ain't No Other Man" smash of last year.

Elsewhere, Rusty Bryant's Dingwalls classic "Fire Eater" given an afro-cuban shake up, Richards People's funk break classic "Yo Yo" gets worked over in a fine style and another appearance from the Godfather of Soul with the cover of "Licking Stick, Licking Stick". The album finishes with a laid back version of "Executive Party" from the Rollerball soundtrack and dug by Cut Chemist on his "Rare Equations" mix CD from a few years back.

All in all, an essential album for collectors, DJs and new comers alike!


Stay informed of all things Paris DJs and beyond thanks to our Twitter news

Comments are closed

You might also like

Paris DJs Private Record Store new arrivals & back in stock vinyl #1

Our little record store in the north-east of Paris is slowly but surely becoming a thing, with more and more friendly people coming by to grab the vinyl (or CDs) they've reserved on our discogs page. We were known for welcoming bands and artists to "studio time & diner", now diggers...
Funkadelic - Reworked By Detroiters

Funkadelic - Reworked By Detroiters (CD/12"/3LP, Westbound, 2017)

Paris DJs' history with George Clinton & the Parliament/Funkadelic crew is a very long one… It culminated first in 2006 when we were asked to cook some exclusive remixes (including a mad dub rework from Grant Phabao, approved by the Dr. Funkenstein himself, you can still grab the free download...