Music Is A Mission

To content | To menu | To search

Various - Bay Area Funk 2

Bay Area Funk 2
best of 2006Various - Bay Area Funk 2
(CD/LP) Luv N'Haight, 2006-04-25

Tracklisting :
01. Mary Love - Born To Live With Heartache
02. Dawn and Sunset - Move in The Room
03. Project Soul - Ebony
04. Soft Touch - Plenty Action
05. Sugar Pie DeSanto - Straighten It Out With Yo Man
06. San Franciso T.K.O.'s - Acid Lady
07. The International Ray Camacho Group - Si Se Puede
08. The Windjammers - Poor Sad Child pt.1
09. Faye Marshall - Goin Home
10. Little Denise Stevenson - Hip Breakin'
11. Primevil - Stop Look Listen!
12. Victor Green - Creole Girl
13. Uptights Band - Devil's On The Run
14. The Relatives - Lenient With My Love
15. Mike Selesia - Brute Strength

Links :

Press Release :
We searched harder and dug-up heavier tracks for this second volume of the Bay Area Funk series. Once again the musical spectrum spans from raw funk to gritty soul. The Bay Area was, and still is, a melting pot of cultures and sounds. The funk scene in San Francisco and surrounding areas reflects that eclectic vibe as artists incorporated rock, Latin, and blues influences into their work.

Amongst these rarities and underground hits are stories of success and failure. Some acts only released one single, while others are certified legends and continue to play and keep the Bay Area music scene alive. Ray Camacho has recorded over 600 tracks and played for royalty and two leper colonies. Also included is the holy grail 7" from Project Soul. This super-rare one-off is from a Vallejo band who's members went on to become ConFunkShun. Mike Selesia's band apparently ate LSD-laced Tootsy Rolls before recording. Southern Californian Faye Marshall spent time up in the Bay Area recording her tune with local funk legend, and BAF Vol 1 artist, Marvin Holmes. Tasty rarities and treats from Primevil, Dawn and Sunset, Soft Touch, and The Windjammers sit next to Bay Area favorites like back-flipping sweet soul sister Sugar Pie DeSanto, 12 year old singing-sensation Little Denise, and one-time James Brown drummer Victor Green.

The extensive liner notes will include track info and band interviews by Bay Area musicologist Justin Torres. Also included are anecdotes plus a first hand overview of the Bay Area's funk scene from writer Lee Hildebrand who saw most of the bands and bought the tunes as they came out.

This is the 50th release for Luv N'Haight records! Since 1990 we have been re-issuing rare and essential soul, funk and jazz records. We do this legally by finding the original artists. Our 50th release returns us to the Bay Area where the label began. Luv N'Haight was born out of the Groove Merchant record store on Haight Street in San Francisco and paved the way for the mother-label, Ubiquity records.


Stay informed of all things Paris DJs and beyond thanks to our Twitter news

Comments are closed

You might also like

Paris DJs Private Record Store new arrivals & back in stock vinyl #1

Our little record store in the north-east of Paris is slowly but surely becoming a thing, with more and more friendly people coming by to grab the vinyl (or CDs) they've reserved on our discogs page. We were known for welcoming bands and artists to "studio time & diner", now diggers...
Funkadelic - Reworked By Detroiters

Funkadelic - Reworked By Detroiters (CD/12"/3LP, Westbound, 2017)

Paris DJs' history with George Clinton & the Parliament/Funkadelic crew is a very long one… It culminated first in 2006 when we were asked to cook some exclusive remixes (including a mad dub rework from Grant Phabao, approved by the Dr. Funkenstein himself, you can still grab the free download...