Music Is A Mission

To content | To menu | To search

Travis Blaque - The Many Facets Of...

Travis Blaque The Many Facets Of
Travis Blaque - The Many Facets Of...
(CD/2xLP) Unique Records UNIQ109, 2006-06-19

Tracklisting :
1. Intro (Travis Theme)
2. In Pursuit Of The Flesh
3. Who R U? (feat Apollo Dom G & Evon)
4. When I Was At School
5. Vowel Movement
6. Home (feat Farasha)
7. A Song For Troy
8. Al Is Dead (feat Noel McCoy)
9. I Could'nt Help
10. Let Me Be The One (feat Lionel)
11. Raymond Cist
12. All She Wants To Do Is Dance
13. Wannabe
14. The Scene

Links : (previous singles)

Press Release :
With "The Many Facets Of" Unique releases the long awaited debut album of the london based MC and soul brother Travis Blaque, who has already worked with Ninja Tune's The Herbaliser and classic rap group The Quiet Boyz. Travis Blaque has been a contributing, active member in (t)his particular scene since more than 20 years as a breakdancer, session MC and recording artist.

"The Many Facets Of..." offers a great musical variety within a total of 14 fascinating songs, recorded in three individual sessions with producers such as Keith Lawrence (Muzik Ed Productions) & Drew Horley (Drewbeats) at The Lab Studios London, Jason Moe aka Moezart (Nerol Productrions / roachford fame) and Sweden's finest 3rd Floor, all resulting in warm, strong, straightforward and uncompromising HipHop/Urban songs. An album heavily loaded with soul, flow, lyrical heat, truly musically on eye level with fine artists such as Rodney P, Roots Manuva and Plantlife. Although Travis Blaque being much more of a poet, cynic, realist, critic, observer, in the center of life. He comments, reflects and deals with the simple, human, everyday things in life from the perspective of the son of jamaican immigrants. "The Many Facets Of" is totally all about message, authenticity, vision, integrity. But there's also the shady side of things like racial prejudices ("Raymond Cist"), kids suffering from broken up relatationships ("A Song For Troy") and the overall struggle of the individual in the 21st century.

"The Many Facets Of" features several guest appearances such as the catching spirits of soul supremo Noel McCoy (Incognito, The James Taylor Quartet) on the fabulous "Al Is Dead", Ty Live-Rapper Dom G., Oldschool veteran Apollo and EvOn (all being featured on the current first single "Who R U?") and the cousin of roots reggae legend Peter Tosh Debra Norman aka Farasha on "Home". With their styles and roots, all of these fine artists contribute to the great variety of the project Travis Blaque, an album that expands the hiphop genre far into real soul music with the main driving force Travis Blaque as mastermind, networking person, pragmatic, ideological focus. For the last 10 years he has been the store manager of Soul Brother Records, a record collectors paradise, that specialises in Soul, Jazz & Funk in Putney, London. Inspirational, don't you think? Here's his story so far...


Stay informed of all things Paris DJs and beyond thanks to our Twitter news

Comments are closed

You might also like

Kologbo - Africa Is The Future

Every 6th of the month is now officially Kologbo day !

Kologbo was Fela's tenor guitar player in Afrika 70. He's been teaching Afrobeat all around the world those last years: Berlin with Afrobeat Academy, Brazil with Abayomy Afrobeat Orquestra Iconili or Amplexos, Chile with Newen Afrobeat, Belgium with World Squad, France with Les Frères Smith or...
Pop Makossa - The Invasive Dance Beat of Cameroon 1976-1984

Various - Pop Makossa - The Invasive Dance Beat of Cameroon 1976-1984 (CD/LP, Analog Africa, 2017)

2017 might be Cameroon's year after its victory at the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations, but German label Analog Africa prove once again they're hands-down the world champions of 1970s African music reissues with this funky and irresistible "Pop Makossa" compilation, focusing on the vintage...