Music Is A Mission

To content | To menu | To search

The Spinto Band - Moonwink

The Spinto Band Moonwink
The Spinto Band - Moonwink
(CD) Fierce Panda/Modulor, 2008-09-22 (UK) 2008-10-07 (USA)

Tracklisting :
01. Later On
02. Vivian, Don't
03. Summer Grof
04. The Carnival
05. Needlepoint
06. The Cat's Pajamas
07. They All Laughed
08. Pumpkins & Paisley
09. Ain't This The Truth
10. Alphabetical Order
11. The Black Flag

Links :

Press Release (french) :
Le jeune groupe qui vous a offert les hymnes "Oh Mandy" et "Brown Boxes" est de retour avec un nouvel album : "Moonwink" sur le label anglais Fierce Panda. Cet album s'inscrit dans la lignée du tout premier "Nice and nicely done" salué par la critique, comme notamment le magazine NME : "The Spinto Band stand apart from their peers and the six-piece have secretly made one of the best rock records this year - 9/10"

Le sextet du Delaware (USA) est inchangé avec Nick Krill (vox/guitar), Jon Easton (guitar), Thomas Hughes (vox/bass), Jeffrey Hobson (drums), Sam Hughes (keyboards/vox) et Joey Hobson (guitar/vox). Ils nous poussent à nouveau à tendre l'oreille vers leur indiepop psyché qui, depuis leur début, n'a pas pris une ride.

C'est avec plaisir que vous retrouverez The Spinto Band et leur talent d'écriture pour produire des mélodies et arrangements inédits, sous forme de mini "tragicomédies".

Premier extrait de "Moonwink", le single "Summer Grof" s'inscrit dans un album aux dynamiques variées, du rock à la pop, "baroque'n'roll" somme toute ! Un disque où de nombreuses influences s'entrechoquent, de The Libertines à Pavement en passant par ELO ou encore Prefab Sprout pour les harmonies.

Ce nouvel opus rappelle la capacité de The Spinto Band à écrire de riches parties de guitares, des orchestrations originales et de multiples harmonies vocales amenant une fraicheur dans la musique pop. Une musique qui nous fait ici voyager dans un univers aussi lumineux que cinématographique. The Spinto Band rend aussi hommage aux fondateurs de la pop comme Bacharach, The Beatles, Berlin (Irvin) ou encore David Bowie. Avec la sortie de "Moonwink", The Spinto Band réaffirme son statut de chef de file de la jeune de garde de la pop.

Press Release (english) :
'The band that brought you the anthems 'Oh Mandy' and 'Brown Boxes' return with a new full length, 'Moonwink' the follow up to the acclaimed debut from 2006 'Nice And Nicely Done' ("The Spinto Band stand apart from their peers and the six-piece have secretly made one of the best rock records this year" - NME 9/10)

Rather happily the Delaware, USA sextet still consist of Nick Krill (vox/guitar), Jon Easton (guitar), Thomas Hughes (vox/bass), Jeffrey Hobson (drums), Sam Hughes (keyboards/vox) and Joey Hobson (guitar/vox). And rather cheerily their brand of ear-bending psyched-up indiepop remains thoroughly untarnished. So welcome once again then to The Spinto Band's world of twisted melodies and drowsy, sun-dappled mini-dramas. 'Summer Grof' is the lead-off single and much like the rest of 'Moonwink' it represents a bite-sized chunk of woozy, upbeat baroque'n'roll which sees the ghostly spirits of The Libertines, Pavement, ELO and Prefab Sprout float amongst the harmonies.

The new recordings fortify The Spinto Band's ability to interlace rich, textured guitars, unconventional orchestration and multiple-part vocal harmonies into exciting new avenues of indie-pop. The music is at once outlandish, kinetic and luminous, while still restrained in a way that pays homage to the classic pop song, bringing to mind a contemporary coagulum of Bacharach, Beatles, Berlin and Bowie.

Pre-order this album at recordstore and receive an exclusive Spinto Band download. The first 50 customers will also get a free copy of the 'Decade: 10 Years OF Fierce Panda' compilation.


Stay informed of all things Paris DJs and beyond thanks to our Twitter news

Comments are closed

You might also like

Vincent Ahehehinnou - Best Woman

Vincent Ahehehinnou - Best Woman (LP, Analog Africa, 2017)

The latest Analog Africa reissue is up for pre-order on Bandcamp! The album, originally a 1978 release by Orchestre Poly Rythmo's singer Vincent Ahehehinnou, is rare-as-shit, worth nearly 4 figures if you can find a decent copy. There's only 4 tunes, two afrofunk monsters and two ballads, but...
Shadow - Sweet Sweet Dreams

Shadow - Sweet Sweet Dreams (CD/2LP, Analog Africa, 2016)

The 22nd Analog Africa release is a beauty people couldn't begin to imagine how the feeling would be to actually be playing it - until now. As rare as it's insanely great, this long-awaited reissue is the holy grail of Shadow albums. The one featuring the monster cosmic soca disco track 'Let’s Get...