Music Is A Mission

To content | To menu | To search

The Revolutionaries - Drum Sound (More Gems from the Channel One Dub Room 1974-1980)

The Revolutionaries Drum Sound
The Revolutionaries - Drum Sound (More Gems from the Channel One Dub Room 1974-1980)
(CD/2xLP) Pressure Sounds PS55, 2007-06-25

Tracklisting :
01. Kunta Kinte
02. Hotter Fire Version
03. Pride and Ambition Version
04. Roots Dub
05. Thinking Version
06. War version
07. A Who Say Version 2
08. Tivoli Skank
09. Dunkirk
10. Swell Headed
11. Ride On Marcus Version
12. Jah Creation Version
13. Plantation Version
14. Back Weh Version
15. Catonine Version
16. Girl a Love you Version

Also available :

The Revolutionaries - Kunta Kinte
(7 inch) Pressure Sounds PSS015, 2007-06-25

Tracklisting :
A1. Kunta Kinte Version 2
B1. Kunta Kinte Version 3

Links :

Press Release :
The next release on Pressure Sounds will be on the 25th of June 2007. A dub album from Channel One called 'Drum Sound'. Mostly taken from 45s but it will also include 'Kunta Kinte' which has only evr been available before on a dub plate. Two extra versions of Kunta Kinte will also be available on a special 45. The magical sound of Channel One became familiar to everybody through the hundreds of releases recorded at the studio. On 'Drum Sound' we have gathered some of the best of the releases on the Channel One and Hitbound labels. 16 Killa tracks beautifully repackaged and re-mastered with 2 tracks on a 45 that will not be on the album. Probably the strongest dub album to be released on Pressure Sounds so far.

The Channel One sound 1974-1980 was outstanding!; Sly Dunbar & engineers Ernest Hookim & Barnabas perfected it; 16 tracks finest Dub-Reggae; incl. King Tubby’s cut to 'Fade Away', the iconic 'Kunta Kinte', rare dub plates & stuff; Excellent re-mastered recordings and packaged with full-illustrated booklet in a slipcase! As Sly Dunbar quotes: "I really started looking at music. Started to experiment on the drums. To see if we could make the drum dance by itself..."


Stay informed of all things Paris DJs and beyond thanks to our Twitter news

Comments are closed

You might also like

Brownout - Iron Leg

Premiere : Brownout - Iron Leg (Mickey & The Soul Generation cover)

Austin-based Level One Sound run by our esteemed collegue Adrian Quesada has been the home to many great recordings, from The Funk Ark, Brownout, David Garza, Deer Tick, Natalia Clavier, The Echocentrics, The Electric Peanut Butter Co., Third Root, Money Chicha, etc. - A full fledged...
The Frightnrs - Nothing More To Say

The Frightnrs - Nothing More To Say (CD/LP, Daptone, 2016)

An instant classic, this fantastic reggae-rocksteady album strives directly for legendary status. It's the first album from The Frightnrs, a Brooklyn band signed on the Daptone label, but it'll also be the last one, alas. Dan Klein, the singer with the magical tone, died from ALS last june. Produced...