Music Is A Mission

To content | To menu | To search

The Quantic Soul Orchestra & Spanky Wilson - Live In Paris DVD

the quantic soul orchestra live in paris
The Quantic Soul Orchestra & Spanky Wilson - Live In Paris
(DVD) Tru Thoughts TRUDVD147, 2008-04-07

Tracklisting :
01. Intro
02. I'm Thankful
03. Waiting For Your Touch
04. Blood From A Stone
05. You
06. That's How It Was
07. Kissing My Love
08. Descarga
09. Oily
10. San Sebastian Strut
11. A Woman Like Me
12. Last Day Of Summer
13. Don't Judge A Book By Its Cover
14. Message To Tomorrow
15. Break
16. Don't Joke With A Hungry Man
17. Sunshine Of Your Love

Note : recorded live in La Maroquinerie, Paris, 2007

Links :
Watch some preview videos on Dailymotion

Press Release :
"Will 'Quantic' Holland performed a great musicological service by tracking down and recording with the American vocalist Spanky Wilson." Mojo Magazine

"The Quantic Soul Orchestra continue their quest to consistently amaze by adding funked-out horns, drums and sax to the voice of spectacular Sixties crooner." (5 stars) Touch Magazine

"a marriage made in soulful heaven" DJ Magazine

"The UK soul revival's essential auteur figure... awesome collaboration" Independent on Sunday

The Quantic Soul Orchestra and Spanky Wilson's "Live In Paris" DVD shines a fresh light on the inspired collaboration between The Quantic Soul Orchestra and "legend-in-her-own-lifetime" Spanky Wilson and is an absolute must-see, especially for those fans who missed the live dates first time around. For all who were lucky enough to be there in the crowd though, this performance at La Maroquinerie in Paris, captured with multiple camera angles and great sound quality, will bring that memory right back into sharp focus.

From the funk juggernaut of the Intro through to the closing number - the classic cover of "Sunshine Of Your Love" - the highlights on this DVD are many and varied, including the mesmerising ballad "Last Day Of Summer" which leads into the upbeat hyper-funky soul of "Don't Judge A Book By Its Cover". The intense energy and skill of Will Holland and his Quantic Soul Orchestra is palpable all the way through, and even visible: in mid-solo acrobatics from Stephen Large on Keys, amongst other high-jinks.

Spanky is a charming, witty and passionate presence on stage, interacting chattily with the crowd like the seasoned entertainer and charismatic individual that she is, and getting a few French-accented "I love yous" from enamoured audience-members. And that is not to mention the breathtaking quality of her singing which, as anyone who has heard the album "I'm Thankful" (Tru Thoughts, 2006) will know, is the perfect match for the Quantic Soul Orchestra's soulful, horn-punctuated funk.

Absolutely essential viewing for fans, for sure, but this spectacular show on DVD will get all music lovers dancing around their living rooms.


Stay informed of all things Paris DJs and beyond thanks to our Twitter news

Comments are closed

You might also like

Brownout - Iron Leg

Premiere : Brownout - Iron Leg (Mickey & The Soul Generation cover)

Austin-based Level One Sound run by our esteemed collegue Adrian Quesada has been the home to many great recordings, from The Funk Ark, Brownout, David Garza, Deer Tick, Natalia Clavier, The Echocentrics, The Electric Peanut Butter Co., Third Root, Money Chicha, etc. - A full fledged...
The Frightnrs - Nothing More To Say

The Frightnrs - Nothing More To Say (CD/LP, Daptone, 2016)

An instant classic, this fantastic reggae-rocksteady album strives directly for legendary status. It's the first album from The Frightnrs, a Brooklyn band signed on the Daptone label, but it'll also be the last one, alas. Dan Klein, the singer with the magical tone, died from ALS last june. Produced...