Music Is A Mission

To content | To menu | To search

The Coup - Pick a Bigger Weapon

The Coup Pick a Bigger Weapon
best of 2006The Coup - Pick a Bigger Weapon
(CD) Epitaph #86720, 2006-04-24

Review :
Bay Area hip hop/funk duo The Coup are proclaimed communists and so will of course be dissed as unserious by pro-Bush ass-kissing losers because of the "Head (Of State)" track (quote: "Bush and Hussein together in bed / Giving 'h-e-a-d' head"), or by never-concerned journalists who'll consider obvious stuff like "You're voting which you're hoping, Will stop the guns from smoking, Is someone fucking joking, They're bankers in sheep's clothing" as some childish philosophy, for example.

That's the idea, this duo are revolutionaries who know how to put the P into "P-Funk", raptivists making fun of America's administration, deep down into politics from a poverity standpoint. Their fifth album, "Pick A Bigger Weapon", is drenched in p-funk influences. You might consider passing on the new Outkast soundtrack and get this opus instead, one of the very best hip hop albums of 2006.

This is revolution and fun while the world is spiraling into the absurd, banging grooves for positive partying with inspirational lines. The Coup are the simply said the fantastic progeny of George Clinton, Prince, Chuck D and KRS-One!

Tracklisting :
01. Bullets And Love (Introduction)
02. We Are The Ones | Get MP3
03. Laugh/Love/Fuck
04. My Favorite Mutiny | Get MP3
05. I Just Wanna Lay Around All Day In Bed With You
06. Head (Of State)
07. ShoYoAss
08. Yes ‘Em To Death
09. Ass-Breath Killers
10. Get That Monkey Off Your Back
11. MindFuck (A New Equation)
12. Two Enthusiastic Thumbs Down
13. I Love Boosters!
14. Tiffany Hall
15. BabyLet’sHaveABabyBeforeBushDo Somethin’Crazy (feat. Silk E)
16. Captain Sterling’s Little Problem
17. The Stand

Note : The Coup is Boots Riley on vocals, Pam The Funkstress on turntables, and various friends with things that make noise.

Links :

Press Release :
“Do I contradict myself? Very well then I contradict myself, (I am large, I contain multitudes.)” -- Walt Whitman
“I’m a walking contradiction, Like bullets and love mixing” -- The Coup

The opening lines of The Coup’s new album, Pick A Bigger Weapon, speak of contradiction. It is from between one of modern life’s central juxtapositions -- the primary forces of sensual, emotional love and brutal economic reality -- “bullets and love” -- that The Coup’s frontman/auteur Boots Riley draws his material for the most lyrically and musically ambitious album of his career. Riley’s often wildly comedic storytelling takes a stance in American art that embraces the ambiguities of our vast and tormented history, rather than seeking some definitive “truth” about the American experience. Think of Twain’s travel adventure of a boy or Melville’s reworking of the nautical yarn. Theirs is a style of twists and turns, sudden leaps from grand philosophy to minute prosaic detail, comedy to tragedy -- a tale that begins as one thing and ends as something radically different.

In “Tiffany Hall,” what starts as a playful tribute to a girl from school, over a slow, carnal groove that brings to mind the best of Marvin Gaye, suddenly turns sobering as Boots learns she has died from complications following cosmetic surgery to reduce her curves. “I Love Boosters!” launches over a funky march as a broad, comic ode to shoplifting and then halfway through shifts to something far subtler, finally offering a tender tribute to the women who clothed him fashionably, despite economic hardship. The agitated funk underpinning of the track only heightens the workaday detail of the surprisingly uncontroversial way of life portrayed by the song.

Pick A Bigger Weapon weaves these contradictions into some of the freshest audioscapes The Coup have ever produced. Backed by a stellar band that includes Audioslave's Tom Morello, Dwayne Wiggins, and veterans of Parliament-Funkadelic, the Gap Band, Toni! Tony! Toné!, Jesse Johnson, and Frankie Beverly and Maze, the album’s uniquely bent grooves point to "Dirty Mind"-era Prince, late-80s Too Short, and the trunk-rattling hyphy sonics of the New Bay movement.

In the end, Riley offers us nothing more complicated than two people trying to snatch one more night of peace, love and sanity by leaving what may be his only mission statement to co-conspirator Silk-E. Her plaintive vocal on “BabyLet’sHaveABabyBeforeBushDoSomethin’Crazy” croons a wish for love in the time of impending apocalypse. The track captures the hope, the doomed sadness, and the contradictory emotions of daily life for much of America. “We might never get our money right…”

"All we have on earth are our seconds and minutes, and in order to survive, we're forced to sell that time. We sell our lives off to the highest bidder," says Boots. "The question is how would we use those seconds if we had control of that time?"


Stay informed of all things Paris DJs and beyond thanks to our Twitter news

Comments are closed

You might also like

Vincent Ahehehinnou - Best Woman

Vincent Ahehehinnou - Best Woman (LP, Analog Africa, 2017)

The latest Analog Africa reissue is up for pre-order on Bandcamp! The album, originally a 1978 release by Orchestre Poly Rythmo's singer Vincent Ahehehinnou, is rare-as-shit, worth nearly 4 figures if you can find a decent copy. There's only 4 tunes, two afrofunk monsters and two ballads, but...
Shadow - Sweet Sweet Dreams

Shadow - Sweet Sweet Dreams (CD/2LP, Analog Africa, 2016)

The 22nd Analog Africa release is a beauty people couldn't begin to imagine how the feeling would be to actually be playing it - until now. As rare as it's insanely great, this long-awaited reissue is the holy grail of Shadow albums. The one featuring the monster cosmic soca disco track 'Let’s Get...