Music Is A Mission

To content | To menu | To search

Studio One Roots 2

Studio One Roots 2
best of 2005Various - Studio One Roots 2
(CD/2xLP) Soul Jazz, 2005-09-05

Tracklisting :
01. Willie Williams - Jah Righteous Plan
02. Al Campbell - Take A Ride
03. Cedric Im Brooks - Satta Massagana
04. Joe Higgs & Ken Boothe - A Message Of Old
05. Jackie Bernard - Jah Jah Walk
06. Devon Russell - Jah Hold The Key
07. Zoot Sims - Small Garden
08. The Saints - Sleeping Trees
09. Larry Marshall - Run Babylon
10. Vin Gordon - Babylon Rock
11. The Gladiators - Talawah
12. Prince Francis - African Skank
13. Cedric Im Brooks - Full Time
14. Prince Lincoln - True Experience
15. Joseph Hill - Behold The Land
16. Winston Mathews - Sun Is Shining
17. Karl Bryan - 2k Strut
18. Zion All Stars - Holy Mount Zion
19. Tommy Mccook - Tenor On Call

Press Release :
Studio Roots Vol. 2 delves deeper into the vaults of the legendary Jamaican Reggae label and features rare and classic roots as well as an unprecedented seven unreleased tracks that up till now have never seen the light of day. Roots and rastafarian music was being recorded at Studio One by Clement "Sir Coxsone" Dodd from the early 1960s onwards to the 1990s and this album reflects the depth and diversity of roots music at the label. From the slow-ska of Dudley Sibbley, to the deep instrumental jazz cuts of Cedric Im Brooks over classic roots rhythms such as "Satta Massagana" to Winston Mathews stunning eerie version of Bob Marley and the Wailers "Sun Is Shining". The Zion All Stars features the Burro rastafarian drumming of Count Ossie and the Mystic Revelation of Rastafari. This album features many of the classic Studio One artists - Willie Williams, Tommy McCook, Cedric Brooks, The Gladiators, Vin Gordon - as well as many less well known artists - all who produced classic roots music under the guidance of producer Clement "Sir Coxsone" Dodd and recorded at the legendary Studio One Records which Chris Blackwell, founder of Island Records, describes as "The University of Reggae".


Stay informed of all things Paris DJs and beyond thanks to our Twitter news

Comments are closed

You might also like

The Frightnrs - Nothing More To Say

The Frightnrs - Nothing More To Say (CD/LP, Daptone, 2016)

An instant classic, this fantastic reggae-rocksteady album strives directly for legendary status. It's the first album from The Frightnrs, a Brooklyn band signed on the Daptone label, but it'll also be the last one, alas. Dan Klein, the singer with the magical tone, died from ALS last june. Produced...
Venezuela 70 - Cosmic Visions Of A Latin American Earth - Venezuelan Experimental Rock In The 1970s

Venezuela 70 - Cosmic Visions Of A Latin American Earth - Venezuelan Experimental Rock In The 1970s (CD/2LP, Soul Jazz, 2016)

English label Soul Jazz Records released this summer a collection of experimental rock recorded in Venezuela in the 1970s, at a time when oil was flowing in abundance and consequently culture rather well subsidized. However, this music had never really got out of the country until now, it's really a...