Music Is A Mission

To content | To menu | To search

Steve Spacek - Black Pocket The Album

Ursula 1000 Undressed
Steve Spacek - Black Pocket The Album
(CD) Exit EXITCD001, 2008-02-18

Info :
A seductively cheeky remix album collecting exclusive reinterpretations of tracks from Ursula 1000 last studio album "Here Comes Tomorrow" and recent 12" vinyl singles. Included here are both the DJ Deekline and JStar remixes of underground dancehall fire-starter "Step Back" (championed by DJ Tayo), a funked up version of "Electrik Boogie" by Fort Knox Five, a percussive jazz redo of "Boop" by Skeewiff, and a pounding semi-industrial rework of "Urgent/Anxious" by the critically celebrated robo-rockers Ladytron. All tracks previously available on vinyl only!

Tracklisting :
01. For Real
02. Mountain
03. Juiced
04. Field
05. You're A Sta
06. Sta Simonez
07. Sta Simone
08. Other Magic
09. Amplifly
10. Bartin Groov
11. Hangin St
12. Vandlance
13. Al Softly

Links :

Press Release :
Few artists nowadays can claim true originality in the music they make; artists who have their own unique sound. You can easily spot a DJ Premier break, an M.I.A. chant, or a Timbaland beat, because these are the artists who have etched out their own niche in the musical forum. These people push the envelope with their production, keeping things fresh, exciting and interesting for us lowly listeners. Steve Spacek is one of these people.

Steve White forged his music career in the early 90's with the dance act Stex, which also featured Johnny Marr of The Smiths. He went on to found the band Spacek in the mid-90s, and quickly found underground success. Their first release, "Eve", gained favour with many respected people in the industry, resulting in them signing to Mos Def's GoodTree imprint and Island Records in the UK. The late J Dilla offerered up remix duties on a package that included contributions from the Roots' Black Thought, Frank n Dank and Mos Def himself. Their debut album, "Curvatia", was critically acclaimed, and displayed the group's complex and challenging sensibilities, establishing them as a promising new talent in the British alternative music scene. "Vintage Hi-Tech" followed in 2003, drawing high praise from critics who called it "a downtempo musical masterpiece that draws no comparison", and they were heralded by Style magazine as "the Radiohead of soul".

Steve launched his solo career in 2005 as Steve Spacek, and went on to release his debut solo album "Spaceshift" on LA based label Sound in Color which was a big seller in the US. The lead single, "Dollar", produced by J Dilla, was a hit and a big crowd (and DJ) pleaser in clubs.

2 years later and it's 2007, and with a move to Exit records (a record label run by his younger brother Darren "D-Bridge" White), Steve is ready to unleash a new side of his musical persona - "Black Pocket" - upon the world.

"Black Pocket The Album" is instrumental soul at its best, an exploration into grooves and the spaces within. Over the series, Black Pocket has shown the diversity that's possible within the soul genre, and this album pulls all those possibilities together. Every track on here shows a producer who is totally in control of his sonic surroundings: a myriad of splices and lush quirks which - like a jigsaw - resolve themselves to reveal the beauty of the whole. "Black Pocket" is an album which blows away all the usual clichés found in the music behind soul and brings to you a future full of potential and promise.


Stay informed of all things Paris DJs and beyond thanks to our Twitter news

Comments are closed

You might also like

Paris DJs Private Record Store new arrivals & back in stock vinyl #1

Our little record store in the north-east of Paris is slowly but surely becoming a thing, with more and more friendly people coming by to grab the vinyl (or CDs) they've reserved on our discogs page. We were known for welcoming bands and artists to "studio time & diner", now diggers...
Funkadelic - Reworked By Detroiters

Funkadelic - Reworked By Detroiters (CD/12"/3LP, Westbound, 2017)

Paris DJs' history with George Clinton & the Parliament/Funkadelic crew is a very long one… It culminated first in 2006 when we were asked to cook some exclusive remixes (including a mad dub rework from Grant Phabao, approved by the Dr. Funkenstein himself, you can still grab the free download...