Music Is A Mission

To content | To menu | To search

Speedometer - Four Flights Up

Speedometer Four Flights Up
Speedometer - Four Flights Up
(CD) Freestyle Records FSRCD024, 2007-06-04

Tracklisting :
01. Meter's Running
02. No Man Worries feat. Ria Currie
03. Same Old Thing
04. Make It Alright feat. Robert Moore
05. Am I Your Woman feat. Ria Currie
06. Four Flights Up
07. Main Man
08. Take a Chance feat. Ria Currie
09. Straight
10. Do Right Man feat. Robert Moore
11. The Real Me feat. Ria Currie
12. Safari Of Soul
13. This Ain't Movin feat. Ria Currie
14. Chicken Run

Links :

Press Release :
Speedometer, the UK's premier funk band started out as a quartet gigging in small clubs in the Southeast of England in 1999, playing classic funk tunes by artists such as The Meters and The JB's. The emerging modern funk boom of the mid 90s, aided by magazines such as Big Daddy and DJs Keb Darge, Snowboy and Jazzman Gerald, lapped up the authentic sounds and tight arrangements of these young enthusiastic bands.

Following the hugely successful singles "Work It Out" and "At The Speakeasy" and albums "This is Speedometer" Volumes 1 & 2, aswell as last years "Diggin Deeper" compilation of early rarities, the band return to the fray with a brand new long player of fresh material. Featuring vocalist Ria Currie, the album picks up where the last left off - jam packed with instantaneously catchy riffs, blasting horns, neck snapping drums and the familiar guitar work and production sound of Leigh Gracie.

Throughout the album you can hear nods to the great and, in many cases, late artists that have influenced the Speedometer sound - none more so that the cover of The Meters "Same Old Thing" - pumped out at a breakneck speed. There is also a cover of The Chi Lites "Are You My Woman" - the original sample source for Beyonce¥s "Crazy In Love" and a classic soul anthem. Cleverly twisting the lyrics to turn the question back to the fellas, this should go down a storm on any dancefloor. The band also provided backing for funk legend Robert Moore (responsible for the classics "Cramp Your Style" and "Everything Is Gonna be Alright") on his recent visit to the UK and wasted no time in getting him into the studio to lay down some vocals for two tracks "Make It Alright" and "Do Right Man" - both masterpieces in modern funk.

Rumoured to be working with DJ Format on his forthcoming album, Speedometer are back in the driving seat and don't seem to be slowing down anytime soon!


Stay informed of all things Paris DJs and beyond thanks to our Twitter news

Comments are closed

You might also like

Paris DJs Private Record Store new arrivals & back in stock vinyl #1

Our little record store in the north-east of Paris is slowly but surely becoming a thing, with more and more friendly people coming by to grab the vinyl (or CDs) they've reserved on our discogs page. We were known for welcoming bands and artists to "studio time & diner", now diggers...
Funkadelic - Reworked By Detroiters

Funkadelic - Reworked By Detroiters (CD/12"/3LP, Westbound, 2017)

Paris DJs' history with George Clinton & the Parliament/Funkadelic crew is a very long one… It culminated first in 2006 when we were asked to cook some exclusive remixes (including a mad dub rework from Grant Phabao, approved by the Dr. Funkenstein himself, you can still grab the free download...