Music Is A Mission

To content | To menu | To search

Spank Rock - Fabriclive 33

Spank Rock Fabriclive
Spank Rock - Fabriclive 33
(CD) Fabric FABRIC66, 2007-04-16

Tracklisting :
01. Intro
02. Kurtis Blow - The Breaks
03. CSS - Let's Make Love And Listen To Death From Above (Spank Rock Remix)
04. Mr Oizo - Nazis (Justice Mix)
05. Dominatrix - The Dominatrix Sleeps Tonight
06. Yello - Bostich
07. Zongamin - Bongo Song
08. Kano - I'm Ready
09. Daft Punk - Technologic
10. Switch - A Bit Patchy
11. The Contours - Do You Love Me
12. Mylo - Drop The Pressure
13. Yes - Owner Of A Lonely Heart
14. Para One - Dudun Dun
15. Best Fwends - Myself (XXXChange Remix)
16. KW Griff - Good Man
17. Uffie - Hot Chick (Feadz Edit)
18. Metro Area - Orange Alert (DFA Remix)
19. Tangerine Dream - Love On A Real Train
20. Simian Mobile Disco - Hustler
21. The Romantics - Talking In Your Sleep
22. Chicks On Speed - Wordy Rappinghood (The Playgroup Remix)
23. Bonde Do Role - Melô Do Tabacco (XXXChange Remix With The Ford Granada)
24. Miss Kittin And The Hacker - Stock Exchange
25. Rick Ross - Hustlin'
26. Hot Chip - Over And Over (Maurice Fulton Remix)
27. Gaz Nevada - I.C. Love Affair
28. L.T.D. - Love To The World
29. Outro

MafiaGato says: This is la fooocking hostia!!! what a mix cd, buy it, take your girl and love to the world!!!

Links :

CD Artwork:
Spank Rock FabricliveSpank Rock FabricliveSpank Rock FabricliveSpank Rock Fabriclive
Spank Rock FabricliveSpank Rock Fabriclive

Press Release :
2006 saw the emergence/takeover of Spank Rock, the name plastered on every magazine cover, lighting up every blog and gracing most/all 'Best Of' charts by the end of the year. Their debut 'YoYoYoYoYo' caught the ear of just about anyone, well, anyone with an ear, and left everyone and their media dog panting to find more about these boys. Yes, these boys. Boys who had created an imaginative, artistic sound that no one else could quite touch: combining hip hop with the bass-driven sound of Baltimore house, filtering filthy raps into deep electro and furiously quick BPM's, and the odd guilty pleasure to boot. Despite all the hype and media-worshipped success, they still have a rare, down to earth charisma and the addictive enthusiasm of 4 starry-eyed boys from Baltimore, completely in awe of their position and unaware of just how much they've wowed the world.

Flash back to 2000, when fun-loving DJ Chris Devlin's (a.k.a. Chris Rockswell) apartment 320 was often found heaving with rowdy parties, bubbling with the likes of introspective producer Alex Epton (Armani XXXChange), quick-tongued filthy-minded MC Naeem Juwan (MC Spank Rock) and rambunctious battle DJ Ronnie Darko. The four collectively formed Spank Rock organically, with Chris Devlin and his apartment being the centre point. After going to school with each other, Chris DJ'd in Naeem's first hip hop band with a guitarist named Chip (who Chris now produces with today). Alex, who lived down the street from Chris, got introduced to Naeem at one of Chris' graffiti art exhibitions. Aspiring DJs, Chris and Ronnie met randomly in Music Liberated, where Ronnie was flyering for one of his parties. Then through no effort of their own, Alex and Naeem's little studio projects suddenly got whipped up by Big Dada, after their mate Wes (aka Diplo) had secretly passed on their demo.

"We were just like 'ah sweet, somebody wants to put it out?!" muses Alex.

When preparing their Fabriclive CD, the boys were fully prepared for their mix to be compared to the one from their label mate Diplo, coming from the same east coast and often helplessly grouped into the same category (mashup, party-style DJing etc)... so to battle the comparison, they deliberately altered the mix.

"I came up with the idea that every person that does a mix after the last person always has to start with the song that the last one ended with. So that last song, the idea was we were gonna put it at the end so you listen to ours and it ends, and you listen to Diplo's and that's what it kicks off with – so they all have a connection together." – Ronnie Darko

And the result is Fabriclive 33, a statement-making mix bursting with personality. From the dialogues in the intro and outro (which Alex secretly recorded before their performance on the Jimmy Kimmel show) to their secret sound effects to their debauched singing to just the quick draw, short attention span levelling of genres, if this mix asks a question, the answer is downright hilarious. Tricks are for kids and don't you forget it.

"The thing is, we fuck around a lot, all the time... and I think a big part of the aesthetic of our performances and how we roll, as far as making the party, is debauchery and fun. And if something's sloppy, you kind of own that a little bit, you know? So we just sort of carried that over into the fabric mix, we thought maybe it would be good to have a little bit of humour in it. And there's some other stuff – we did a lot of recording, we made a lot of sound effects. For example, there sounds on there that sound like bombs dropping, which we made by mic'ing the sound of us picking up amplifiers and dropping them. There's little stuff in there that took a while to make, and yeah... there's some stuff in there you gotta check for. It was really fun to make."- Chris Devlin


Stay informed of all things Paris DJs and beyond thanks to our Twitter news

Comments are closed

You might also like

Kologbo - Africa Is The Future

Every 6th of the month is now officially Kologbo day !

Kologbo was Fela's tenor guitar player in Afrika 70. He's been teaching Afrobeat all around the world those last years: Berlin with Afrobeat Academy, Brazil with Abayomy Afrobeat Orquestra Iconili or Amplexos, Chile with Newen Afrobeat, Belgium with World Squad, France with Les Frères Smith or...
Pop Makossa - The Invasive Dance Beat of Cameroon 1976-1984

Various - Pop Makossa - The Invasive Dance Beat of Cameroon 1976-1984 (CD/LP, Analog Africa, 2017)

2017 might be Cameroon's year after its victory at the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations, but German label Analog Africa prove once again they're hands-down the world champions of 1970s African music reissues with this funky and irresistible "Pop Makossa" compilation, focusing on the vintage...