Music Is A Mission

To content | To menu | To search

Soul Sisters - The Sights & Sounds of the African-American Underground

Mushroom Soul Sisters
best of 2006Various (alias Mushroom) - Black Beauty Presents... Soul Sisters - The Sights & Sounds of the African-American Underground
(CD) Black Beauty BB72007, 2005-06-21

Tracklisting CD :
01. Some Jive Ass Wasting My Time (7:50)
02. Theme Song from "The Turtle" (9:05)
03. Oh My, No White Boy Ever Done Me Like That Before (15:42)
04. Theme from "Chocolate Cherry" (9:19)
05. Music from "Copper Cuties" (4:51)
06. Samantha's Song (3:07)
07. Jam Back at the Ho' House (3:03)

Press Release :
"Not just another blaxploitation soundtrack compilation, this is a collection of music taken from 1970s X-rated African-American films and made available for the first time anywhere. These X-rated films feature less 'by the numbers' funk and more improvised grooves and 'avant garde' textures than the typical blaxploitation soundtracks. Using mainly jazz musicians from Oakland, CA (where many of these films were made), these recently uncovered master tapes (and the 16 pages of color photos) are sure to delight your eyes and ears."


Stay informed of all things Paris DJs and beyond thanks to our Twitter news

Comments are closed

You might also like

Brownout - Iron Leg

Premiere : Brownout - Iron Leg (Mickey & The Soul Generation cover)

Austin-based Level One Sound run by our esteemed collegue Adrian Quesada has been the home to many great recordings, from The Funk Ark, Brownout, David Garza, Deer Tick, Natalia Clavier, The Echocentrics, The Electric Peanut Butter Co., Third Root, Money Chicha, etc. - A full fledged...
The Frightnrs - Nothing More To Say

The Frightnrs - Nothing More To Say (CD/LP, Daptone, 2016)

An instant classic, this fantastic reggae-rocksteady album strives directly for legendary status. It's the first album from The Frightnrs, a Brooklyn band signed on the Daptone label, but it'll also be the last one, alas. Dan Klein, the singer with the magical tone, died from ALS last june. Produced...