Music Is A Mission

To content | To menu | To search

Slakah The Beatchild - Soul Movement Vol.1

Slakah The Beatchild Soul Movement Vol 1
Slakah The Beatchild - Soul Movement Vol.1
(CD/MP3) Barely Breaking Even Records BBECD108, 2008-09-08

Tracklisting :
01. Intro
02. Enjoy Ya Self
03. Share
04. Get Down Right
05. What's This Feeling
06. The Answer
07. Crate Love (By Your Side)
08. It's All Good
09. A Way
10. Feel That Music
11. B-Boy Beef
12. I'll Be Alright
13. State Of The Game
14. Some Beats
15. Can U See It ?
16. Now A Daze
17. Bad Meaning Good
18. Butta Fat Vibes
19. Ain't Nothing Like HipHop
20. Enjoy Ya Self V2

Links :

Press Release :
A quick 'Slakah' keyword search on youtube gives a pretty definitive starting point that spring boards into a collection of impressive projects bearing Slakah's groove-oriented production signature.

Slakah The Beatchild represents the evolution of the enigmatic producer. Five years ago the urban landscape was ruled by the super production gods. Names like Dre, The Neptunes, Timbaland and Dilla (R.I.P.) conjure up visions of walking celestial beings blessing us with musical gems. Then the internet came and completely changed the producer paradigm. In the past the artist/producer title was a choice, now it's a prerequisite as musicians struggle to stay relevant in the hearts and minds of 'gimme, gimme', attention-deficient listeners. If an artist is going to get by in '08 they have to be a musical multi-tasker and Slakah fits perfectly into that lane. He's a musical chameleon whose gifts are only truly realized in the presence of other talented artists and musicians. This is why The Soul Movement Vol. 1 is such an effective introduction to this kid's budding abilities.

Featuring collaborations from the cream of Canada's burgeoning talent (Drake, Tona, Divine Brown, Shad, Melanie Durrant, Ray Robinson, Ebrahim and so many others) the album is feel-good new soul with enough of a world-inflected influence to keep it fresh.

It's an ALBUM! Meaning the songs are built to complement and augment each other so grabbing one or two songs and popping them into your I-pod won't do this soulful effort justice. Standout tracks are Enjoy Ya Self, Get Down Right, The Answer, Crate Love, B-boy Beef, I'll Be Alright & Bad Meaning Good. The album's six featured interludes are of the Shit-I-wish-this-was-a-full-song variety so when you add those to the aforementioned songs you realize The Soul Movement Vol.1 is really worth enjoying in its entirety (sorry attention-deficient kids!).

If you come from the 'Go to the store, buy the album, go home, sit back and listen while reading the liner notes' era then The Soul Movement Vol. 1 is an album you'll readily add to your collection. If you're from the 'Go to the internet, find new music and throw it into my I-pod blender' era, then this album is a great introduction to a different (some may even say better) soul-listening experience.


Stay informed of all things Paris DJs and beyond thanks to our Twitter news

Avy Bray Avy Bray ·  15 September 2008, 03:30

I have been following some of the stuff Slakah the Beatchilds been doing, but this entire record really caught me off guard! If you love that dilla/pete rock/raphael saadiq/ soul goodness, then you will loooooooove this! I love how there is a dope blend of everything!! 5 stars!!!

You might also like

Kologbo - Africa Is The Future

Every 6th of the month is now officially Kologbo day !

Kologbo was Fela's tenor guitar player in Afrika 70. He's been teaching Afrobeat all around the world those last years: Berlin with Afrobeat Academy, Brazil with Abayomy Afrobeat Orquestra Iconili or Amplexos, Chile with Newen Afrobeat, Belgium with World Squad, France with Les Frères Smith or...
Pop Makossa - The Invasive Dance Beat of Cameroon 1976-1984

Various - Pop Makossa - The Invasive Dance Beat of Cameroon 1976-1984 (CD/LP, Analog Africa, 2017)

2017 might be Cameroon's year after its victory at the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations, but German label Analog Africa prove once again they're hands-down the world champions of 1970s African music reissues with this funky and irresistible "Pop Makossa" compilation, focusing on the vintage...