Music Is A Mission

To content | To menu | To search

Rephrase biography and discography

rephrase music
Rephrase is the name given to Sydney producer/musician Jaime Olsen.

Starting his production career in 1999, Jaime entered the Australian leg of the Roland Groovemaster competition and won an endorsement allowing him to expand his humble bedroom studio.

Joining forces with an old band mate in 2001 he formed Sydney breaks group Db Chills. They signed their debut album "BrokenSound" to Stephen Mallinders (Cabaret Voltaire) label Offworld Sounds in 2002 and were nominated for a DMA that same year.

With Db Chills taking a break in 2003 Jaime focused on producing his debut solo album "Beatcoaster" under the name Rephrase.

December 2003 saw the release of a 12" EP on Sydney label Casa Del Discos. This release managed to fall into the hands of some established djs from around the globe including John Stapleton (Dope on Plastic), Gilles Peterson & Miguel Migs (Nrk)

The album finally dropped in January 2005 with the tracks "Mink" & "The Concert Begins" being embraced by local radio stations Triple J and FBI.

Throughout 2005 Rephrase tracks appeared on numerous compilations both here and overseas with the highlight being the inclusion of the track "Boulevard" on London label Jack to Phono's "Who Shot Jacques Laverne Vol. 2" compilation.

2006 looks promising for Rephrase with a new album due in September and a series of 12" releases on Sydney label Knowfoowl as well as a new live line up featuring Jimi Polar on Keys and Noel Boogie supplying the cuts.
Also in the pipeline are remixes for Bah Samba, Flevans, Beatphreak, All Good Funk Alliance, Kurtis, Tom Eno & Kidzen.

Releases :
Rephrase - Beatcoaster EP (12", Casa Del Discos Recordings 2003)
Rephrase - Beatcoaster (CD, Casa Del Discos Recordings 2005)
Rephrase - Boulevard/Good Feelin' (123, Knowfoowl Records 2006)
Rephrase - Little Victories (CD, Knowfoowl Records 2006)

Remixes :
Kidzen - Madstream (Rephrase Mix) (Future Classic 2006)
All Good Funk Alliance - Now Lately (Rephrase Mix) (Funk Weapons 2006)
Ed Royal & Dj Enne - (Rephrase Mix) (Innvision 2006)
TimeWarp Inc. - Afrofunk - (Rephrase Mix) (Timewarp 2006)
Basement Freaks - Street Assassin -(Rephrase Mix) (Music Chicken 2006)
Tom Eno - La Barajura (Rephrase Mix) (Jack To Phono 2006)
Beatphreak - Gospel Nights - (Rephrase Mix) (Jack To Phono 2006)
Bah Samba - Everybody Get Up - (Rephrase Mix) (2006)
Bugz in the Attic - Move Aside - (Rephrase Mix)
Kurtis - Better Than The Real Thing - (Rephrase Mix) (Marli Music 2006)
Cookin' on 3 Burners - Cressy St Breakdown (Rephrase Mix) (Knowfoowl 2005)

Remixed :
Rephrase - Boulevard (Flevans Mix) (Knowfoowl 2006)
Rephrase - Good Feelin' (Parov Stelar's Late Night Dub) (Knowfoowl 2006)
Rephrase - Chase The Tail (All Good Funk Alliance Mix) (Knowfoowl 2006)
Rephrase - Funky Little So & So (Basement Freaks Mix) (Knowfoowl 2006)
Rephrase - The Return of Jimi Fingers (Dj Enne Mix) (Knowfoowl 2006)
Rephrase - What Happens on the Dancefloor, Stays on the Dancefloor (Ed 7 Mix) (2006)
Rephrase - Since 1939 - (K'Bonus Mix)- Knowfoowl 2006


Stay informed of all things Paris DJs and beyond thanks to our Twitter news

Comments are closed

You might also like

Vincent Ahehehinnou - Best Woman

Vincent Ahehehinnou - Best Woman (LP, Analog Africa, 2017)

The latest Analog Africa reissue is up for pre-order on Bandcamp! The album, originally a 1978 release by Orchestre Poly Rythmo's singer Vincent Ahehehinnou, is rare-as-shit, worth nearly 4 figures if you can find a decent copy. There's only 4 tunes, two afrofunk monsters and two ballads, but...
Shadow - Sweet Sweet Dreams

Shadow - Sweet Sweet Dreams (CD/2LP, Analog Africa, 2016)

The 22nd Analog Africa release is a beauty people couldn't begin to imagine how the feeling would be to actually be playing it - until now. As rare as it's insanely great, this long-awaited reissue is the holy grail of Shadow albums. The one featuring the monster cosmic soca disco track 'Let’s Get...