Music Is A Mission

To content | To menu | To search

Pigeon John - And The Summertime Pool Party

Pigeon John And The Summertime Pool Party
best of 2006Pigeon John - And The Summertime Pool Party
(CD/LP) Quannum Projects QP066, 2006-09-12

Review :
THAT's what I call an album!! After missing a series of albums due to lack of time and money, "Pigeon John Is Clueless" (2002), "Pigeon John Is Dating Your Sister" (2003) and "Pigeon John Sings The Blues" (2005), I finally tried the new one with the smily yellow cover, the one saying "buy me I'm cool" graphically, the one called "Pigeon John & The Summertime Pool Party"...
That was a good move.
This is fresh classic hip hop, in the vein of the Gnarls Barkley album with an added californian flavor to balance the lack of singing prowess only Cee-Lo can perform.
This is West Coast Outkast music, smashing hip hop with the Beatles ("Weight Of The World", "As We Know It"), De La Soul-styled humor and Harry Belafonte melodies ("Lost My Job Again") with party anthems like the huge "Freaks Freaks" or the swinging "Higher", upbeat pop ("Brand New Day") with hip hop nostalgia ("Growin' Old").
One of the hip hop albums of 2006 for all the b-boys and b-girls. (check my list).

Tracklisting :
01. Welcome To The Show
02. Scene 1 - "I thought you was a G?"
03. Do The Pigeon
04. Higher?!
05. Scene 2 - "I was just looking at her jeans"
06. Money Back Guarantee
07. Freaks! Freaks! (Starring DJ Rhettmatic)
08. One For The...(Starring Brother Ali)
09. The Last Sunshine (Starring RJD2 and J-Live)
10. Weight Of The World
11. Scene 3 - "Black man on a white horse"
12. As We Know It
13. I Lost My Job Again
14. Scene 4 - "The girls, the fantastic fireworks"
15. Brand New Day
16. Growin' Old

Links :
promo e-card

Press Release :
Pigeon John hails from sunny Southern California, Inglewood to be exact. It's easy to assume his signature blend of wit, charisma and undeniable stage presence is a fortunate gift (and it is), but let's be real. Everyone starts somewhere. Pigeon John cut his teeth in the early 90s at the legendary Good Life Cafe, spitting rhymes on the same stage with then fledgling, now established artists like Freestyle Fellowship, Kurupt, The Pharcyde and Jurassic 5. Good Life open-mic nights became PJ's ritual. It was the perfect environment to hone his performance and delivery skills amongst discerning peers.

Time at the Good Life gave way to time spent at local venues and in the studio with friends like Brainwash Projects and LA Symphony. His appearances on the underground classics, The Rise and Fall of Brainwash Project and Composition 1 from Brainwash Projects and LA Symphony, respectively, put him on the radar as one to watch.

In 2002, Pigeon John released his solo debut Pigeon John Is Clueless, selling over 11,000 copies with no distribution. He followed up with Pigeon John Is Dating Your Sister and Pigeon John Sings The Blues. The albums garnered significant praise landing him features in Spin's "Next Big Things" issue, URB's "Next 100" and Mic Check in The Source. PJ's infectious tunes have been used by XBOX for the games "Project Gotham" and "NBA Inside Drive 2002," as well as the major motion picture "Get Over It." John has also performed and appeared in print and television ads for both Levi's and Nestle Crunch.

Touring the nation 8 times over, Pigeon John has earned his veteran status, using a clever balance of self-deprecating humor and confidence to rock any crowd, any stage. His boundless energy seduces crowds making ladies swoon and fellas embrace their geek appeal.

Enamored by PJ's infectious energy and raw talent exhibited on the Cali Comm tour, Lyrics Born brought Pigeon John into the Quannum fold in 2005. His Quannum Projects debut Pigeon John And The Summertime Pool Party (his best album yet!) hits stores September 12, 2006.


Stay informed of all things Paris DJs and beyond thanks to our Twitter news

Comments are closed

You might also like

Paris DJs Private Record Store new arrivals & back in stock vinyl #1

Our little record store in the north-east of Paris is slowly but surely becoming a thing, with more and more friendly people coming by to grab the vinyl (or CDs) they've reserved on our discogs page. We were known for welcoming bands and artists to "studio time & diner", now diggers...
Funkadelic - Reworked By Detroiters

Funkadelic - Reworked By Detroiters (CD/12"/3LP, Westbound, 2017)

Paris DJs' history with George Clinton & the Parliament/Funkadelic crew is a very long one… It culminated first in 2006 when we were asked to cook some exclusive remixes (including a mad dub rework from Grant Phabao, approved by the Dr. Funkenstein himself, you can still grab the free download...