Music Is A Mission

To content | To menu | To search

One Self - Children Of Possibility

One Self Children Of Possibility
best of 2005One Self - Children Of Possibility
(CD/2xLP) Ninja Tune ZEN94/ZENCD94, 2005-06-13

CD Tracklisting:
01. Fear The Labor | Go Download MP3
02. Trying To Speak
03. Be Your Own
04. Temptation
05. Over Exposed
06. Bluebird | Quicktime Video
07. SD2
08. Paranoid
09. Hollow Human Beings
10. Cupid Smiling The Smile
11. Sunshine
12. Unfamiliar Places

2xLP Tracklisting:
A1. Fear The Labor
A2. Trying To Speak
A3. Be Your Own
B1. Temptation
B2. Over Exposed
B3. Bluebird
C1. SD2
C2. Paranoid
C3. Hollow Human Beings
D1. Cupid Smiling The Smile
D2. Sunshine
D3. Unfamiliar Places

Links :
Watch the One Self EPK here
Official website :

Press Release :
You've heard "Be Your Own", you've heard "Bluebird" – now it's time to experience the full impact of the children of possibility known as One Self.

With a career marked by critical acclaim and a hardcore following, DJ Vadim could have continued to work as a producer with whoever he liked – the cream of MC talent from around the globe. As one of the few producers to straddle the divide between independent hip hop and more leftfield instrumental music, he could have stayed in the comfort zone. But this time out he decided to gather his closest musical collaborators together with him to create a true group ethic and radically freshen up his approach in the process. The results are sensational, a revelation.

Both Swedish-Brazilian Yarah Bravo and American Blu Rum 13 have been long term Vadim-associates but in addition have rhymed with everyone from TTC to Canibus to Luke Vibert to Kid Koala. Their voices, placed together for the first time, mesh into a lyrical, melodic blend which summons up memories of the best of Native Tongues updated for a new century - Blu Rum's gruff, musical growl the ideal foil for Yarah's sweet, octave-hopping, spoken word stylings. Two intelligent MCs with sacks full of ideas but the subtlety not to ram it down your throat.

The effect of working with two so well-matched vocalists (along with a new obsession with dub and the bass heavy music of the Caribbean) seems to have revivified Vadim's approach, a real sense of sunshine permeating a record which still punches its weight in terms of stylistic innovation and experimentation.

So while the album opens with Blu Rum's proletarian anthem, "Fear The Labour" and the unstitched rocksteady of "Trying To Speak", the listener soon finds themselves bouncing to the warm bass of "Temptation" or the street soul of "Over Expose," the carnival punches of "Sunshine" or the meditative spaciousness of "Hollow Human Beings". And Vadim still comes through with a trademark instrumental track in "SD2" which is as fun as it is fucked up.

So there you have it – a true unit (One Self) working together to open up new possibilities for themselves and for the music they love. A perfect record for a summer as cerebral as it is soulful…


Stay informed of all things Paris DJs and beyond thanks to our Twitter news

ape ape ·  19 October 2006, 11:54

je suis tres decu par certains morceaus dont le titre phare bluebird, ça c'est loin d'etre du vadim c'est du recyclage de vieux son style rnb qui passe sur skyrock au mois de juillet peut etre que vadim abesoin d'argent car ca sonne tres commercial, il ya quand meme quelques son interessant mais l'album reste inciherent et le emttre premier c'est un scandal

kurseur kurseur ·  26 January 2008, 06:17

Mec, c'est là que t'as absolument rien compris en ce morceaux.
Car dis-toi que ce n'est pas seulement du DJ vadim, non mais ; t'as pas lu que c'était Oneself
et donc que Vadim n'est pas du tout seul dans ce projet, d'où la grosse différence avec les sons d'origines qui font le Vadim que nous connaissons tous. Et je trouve ça bien dommage que tu n'es absolument rien compris en la valeur de ce projet. Faut dire que monsieur Vadim n'est pas non plus obliger de faire du Vadim quand même, ce n'est ni une machine le monsieur ; attention.

You might also like

Paris DJs Private Record Store new arrivals & back in stock vinyl #1

Our little record store in the north-east of Paris is slowly but surely becoming a thing, with more and more friendly people coming by to grab the vinyl (or CDs) they've reserved on our discogs page. We were known for welcoming bands and artists to "studio time & diner", now diggers...
Funkadelic - Reworked By Detroiters

Funkadelic - Reworked By Detroiters (CD/12"/3LP, Westbound, 2017)

Paris DJs' history with George Clinton & the Parliament/Funkadelic crew is a very long one… It culminated first in 2006 when we were asked to cook some exclusive remixes (including a mad dub rework from Grant Phabao, approved by the Dr. Funkenstein himself, you can still grab the free download...