Music Is A Mission

To content | To menu | To search

Ohmega Watts - Watts Happening

Watts Happening Ohmega Watts
Ohmega Watts - Watts Happening
(CD/2xLP) Ubiquity Records URCD/DLP218, 2007-10-09

Info :
While the eclecticism of his debut album The Find won him many fans, "Watts Happening" pushes the envelope to reveal even more about MC/producer Ohmega Watts. The record includes collaborations with lauded MC/producer Jneiro Jarel, up n'coming Brazilian vocalist Tita Lima, Bay Area blues n'funkstress (and one of James Brown's favorite female vocalists) Sugarpie Desanto, and label mate Shawn Lee.

Tracklisting :
01. What's It Worth
02. Triple Double (feat. Theory Hazit)
03. No Delay (feat. Surreal)
04. Shorty Shouts
05. Model Citizen
06. Few And Far Between
07. Eyes And Ears (feat. Jneiro Jarel)
08. Roc The Bells (feat. Lightheaded)
09. Adaptacao (feat. Tita Lima)
10. Saywhayusay
11. Are You Satisfied (feat. Sugar Pie DeSanto)
12. Dedicated
13. Memory Lane (feat. Genahral Victor)
14. Found
15. Work For Wealth (feat. Ragen Fykes / Barry Hampton)
16. The Platypus Strut
17. Freak Out
18. Gone With The Wid

Links :

Press Release :
While the eclecticism of his debut album "The Find" won him many fans, Watts Happening pushes the envelope to reveal even more about MC/producer Ohmega Watts and continues to challenge the expectations of what a rap album could be. The record includes collaborations with lauded Philly-based MC/producer Jneiro Jarel and up n'coming Brazilian vocalist Tita Lima who appears on the DJ-friendly Brazilian-tinged excursion "Adaptacao." Watts wrote "Are You Satisfied" for Bay Area blues n'funkstress, and one of James Brown's favorite female vocalists Sugarpie Desanto, inspired by recent losses she suffered in a tragic fire at her Oakland home. London instrumentalist, and label mate, Shawn Lee also provides some key sounds from his over-stocked studio. The album includes features from favorite Watts cohorts like the Lightheaded crew, Triple Grip and Theory Hazit.

Ohmega Watts has a wide-eyed, all-encompassing, set of musical influences that range from the more obvious soul and funk tunes, to being a big fan of Stereolab and Broadcast, psychedelic Brazilian sounds, to music by UK producers like Quantic and Mr Scruff. As such Watts Happening follows on from his debut album, The Find, exploring and presenting a multitude of beats, rhythms, and styles. With The Find he threaded these sounds together for the first time and his popularity grew organically from a virtually-unknown MC to one who has performed all over the USA including dates like Lollapalooza and Bumbershoot with Lyrics Born and The Greyboy Allstars. He has headlined the MusicFest NW show, and played dates with Breakestra, The Coup, Lifesavas, De La Soul, Blackalicious, RJD2, Michael Franti and Spearhead, Masta Killa, and Count Bass D. In addition he has toured throughout Europe and Japan.

Rolling Stone described his album as being full of "Funky soul and razor-sharp dance-floor cuts," and continued, "this is hip-hop that everyone - not just fans of the genre - can enjoy". Cutting edge UK mag Dazed & Confused described him as "One of the freshest talents to have emerged out of hip-hop's leftfield in the last five years." And The Source added, "Ohmega takes it back to when it was only about beats and rhymes, when Jam Master Jay was more than a memory and the culture had harmony."

Since recording The Find he has appeared on records by Galactic, Shawn Lee, Quantic, Connie Price and the Keystones, and Australian act The Bamboos.

On Watts Happening there's a handful of party-pleasing dance-floor fillers in all different shapes and sizes including the hard-hitting Afrobeat drum-powered "The Platypus Strut" which was made with a cast of musicians from the red-hot LA funk and soul scene like Miles Tackett on guitar (Breakestra) and Todd Simon on horns and flute (The Lions, Connie Price, Antibalas etc). The space-funk of "Work For Wealth" featuring fellow-Portland-based musicians Ragen and Barry of Triple Grip, and rap cuts like "Eyes and Ears" and "Triple Double" will also keep the DJs happy. There are also mellow or thought-provoking tunes like "No Delay," inspired by the movies Born Into Brothels and Boys of Baraka, "Found" addressing a Watts' religious transformations and "Gone With The Wind" which opens with a tasty jazz drum lick.

+ CD includes a vocal AND an instrumental disc.
+ Making of & music video from the album to air in the weeks before release date.
+ Ohmega Watts podcast on iTunes to air in October
+ 17 USA solo dates in the works for November, plus opening slots for major acts before end of year. Tour dates in the UK, Australia and Japan to follow also being booked for this Fall.


Stay informed of all things Paris DJs and beyond thanks to our Twitter news

Comments are closed

You might also like

Vincent Ahehehinnou - Best Woman

Vincent Ahehehinnou - Best Woman (LP, Analog Africa, 2017)

The latest Analog Africa reissue is up for pre-order on Bandcamp! The album, originally a 1978 release by Orchestre Poly Rythmo's singer Vincent Ahehehinnou, is rare-as-shit, worth nearly 4 figures if you can find a decent copy. There's only 4 tunes, two afrofunk monsters and two ballads, but...
Shadow - Sweet Sweet Dreams

Shadow - Sweet Sweet Dreams (CD/2LP, Analog Africa, 2016)

The 22nd Analog Africa release is a beauty people couldn't begin to imagine how the feeling would be to actually be playing it - until now. As rare as it's insanely great, this long-awaited reissue is the holy grail of Shadow albums. The one featuring the monster cosmic soca disco track 'Let’s Get...