Music Is A Mission

To content | To menu | To search

Nostalgia 77 - Everything Under The Sun

Nostalgia 77 Everything Under The Sun
Nostalgia 77 - Everything Under The Sun
(CD/LP) Tru Thoughts TRUCD123/TRULP123, 2007-03-19

Tracklisting :
01. Wildflower
02. Stop To Make A Change
03. Dreamers Dance
04. Little Steps
05. East Wind
06. Everything Under The Sun
07. Quiet Dawn
08. Arora
09. On The Steps

Links :

CD Artwork :
Nostalgia 77 Everything Under The SunNostalgia 77 Everything Under The SunNostalgia 77 Everything Under The Sun

Press Release :
"Everything Under The Sun" is the brand new LP from Benedic Lamdin. On this new LP the prolific producer explores new territory. Unlike Ben's previous intrumental works, "Everything Under The Sn" is a song-based collection.

Lamdin explains, "I wanted to continue developing the ideas I've explored in other records, to take the emotional moods that are there and to vocalise them. I wanted to write lyrics that reflected them".

In January 2007 under the Nostalgia 77 name he won Jazz Album Of The Year at the BBC Radio One Gilles Peterson Worldwide Awards, and has received a stream of critical acclaim for his work since he joined Tru-Thoughts records in 2002. After five albums, including work as live outfit Nostalgia 77 Octet, his new album "Everything Under The Sun" is a new example of lush, atmospheric, funky jazz.

The album features vocalist Lizzy Parks on the opening track "Wildflower". Gilles Peterson immediatly picked out "Wildflower" as a favorite cut, stating that Nostalgia 77 and Lizzy PArks were "two of my favorite acts of 2006 teaming up". The LP also features vocalist Beth Rowley who hails from Bristol. At an impromptu audition Lamdin says he knew she was right for the project just one verse in. The use of vocalists helps create a beautiful cosmic-tinged jazz album that sounds as much classic, spiritual, Impulse-influenced music as it does Cinematic Orchestra adn Koop. "It's like Portishead meets Charles MMingus!" says Lamdin.

On "Everything Under The Sun", Lamdin explains that he "wanted to make welcoming music", and "music that is open to everyone". "Before jazz was a technical music it was an emotional and popular pusic, it is this kind of music we should be nostalgic for.

"Everything Under The Sun" was engineered by Mike Pelanconi. Mike's production credits include Grahama Coxon and most recently Lily Allen's debut LP.


Stay informed of all things Paris DJs and beyond thanks to our Twitter news

Comments are closed

You might also like

Brownout - Iron Leg

Premiere : Brownout - Iron Leg (Mickey & The Soul Generation cover)

Austin-based Level One Sound run by our esteemed collegue Adrian Quesada has been the home to many great recordings, from The Funk Ark, Brownout, David Garza, Deer Tick, Natalia Clavier, The Echocentrics, The Electric Peanut Butter Co., Third Root, Money Chicha, etc. - A full fledged...
The Frightnrs - Nothing More To Say

The Frightnrs - Nothing More To Say (CD/LP, Daptone, 2016)

An instant classic, this fantastic reggae-rocksteady album strives directly for legendary status. It's the first album from The Frightnrs, a Brooklyn band signed on the Daptone label, but it'll also be the last one, alas. Dan Klein, the singer with the magical tone, died from ALS last june. Produced...