Music Is A Mission

To content | To menu | To search

Mr Scruff - Mrs Cruff (re-issue)

mr scruff mrs cruff
Mr Scruff - Mrs Cruff (re-issue)
(3xLP/CD) Ninja Tune ZEN112/ZENCD112, 2005-05-09

Info :
Le premier album de Mr Scruff vient d'être réédité en triple vinyle et "CD avec deux bonus tracks". Voilà une bonne nouvelle qui remet ce disque à sa place: dans les bacs.
Seulement voilà.
La version vinyle d'origine de Mai 1997, "Mr Scruff", sortie sur Pleasure Records, a le tracklist suivant:
Tracklisting 2xLP :
A1 Jazz Potato
A2 Wail
B1 Crisps
B2 Bonce
C1 Jazz Potato (N.O.W. Remix)
C2 Crisps (Strangebrew Remix)
D1 Chicken In A Box

Alors que la réédition Ninja Tune (Mrs Cruff), triple vinyle, se déroule à peu de choses près ainsi:
Tracklisting 3xLP (reissue) :
A1 Sea Mammal
A2 Bass Baby
B1 Limbic Funk
B2 Chicken In A Box
C1 Jazz Potato
C2 Bonce
D1 Night Time
D2 After Time
E1 Crisps

Pour le CD c'est moins le bordel. La version d'origine :
Tracklisting CD :
01 Sea Mammal
02 Tubby Mechanical Friend
03 Bass Baby
04 Chicken in a Box
05 Night Time
06 Limbic Funk
07 Bobby's Jazz Pony
08 Jazz Potato
09 Crisps
10 Wail

La réédition CD:
Tracklisting CD (reissue) :
01 Sea Mammal
02 Tubby Mechanical Friend
03 Bass Baby
04 Bonce -> bonus !!
05 Chicken in a Box
06 Night Time
07 After Time -> bonus !!
08 Limbic Funk
09 Bobby's Jazz Pony
10 Jazz Potato
11 Crisps
12 Wail

"Bonce", dispo sur la réédition CD, est donc le seul inédit provenant de la première version vinyle et qui n'est pas un remix. Mr Scruff n'avait soit pas les droits sur les remixes, produits eux par le label Pleasure, soit ne préférait pas les rééditer par choix artistique... il faudra lui poser la question.
"After Time" était lui disponible sur le maxi "Limbic Funk EP" sorti par Pleasure 2 mois après l'album.
Bien évidemment les versions vinyle et CD de chez Pleasure de 1997 sont désormais introuvables (hormis sur les sites d'enchères à prix exhorbitants) et on ne peut que se réjouir de cette réédition qui se permet de réécrire l'histoire du Scruff en "remasterisé".
Note : 4/5 (Djouls)
PS (1) Pour une anthologie avec TOUS les inédits de chez Grand Central, Echo Drop, Pleasure, Cup Of Tea et compagnie, dont une bonne partie de super-tueries, il est préférable de réaliser tout de suite qu'il va falloir se gratter... ou aller gratter sur le p2p.

Press release :
The album brings together the best of the first Mr Scruff 12"s previously released on Pleasure Records. The re-issue contains nine tracks on triple vinyl, and the cd has the original track listing, with the addition of 'Bonce' and 'After Time'. All the tracks have been remastered.
This first four track EP was recorded in two studios, 'Soundstation' and 'Primetime', owned by Andy Robinson. It was at this latter studio that I came up with the name 'Mr Scruff'. Prior to this moment, I had been using the name 'Funky Scruff', so I entered the world of grown-ups with a 'Mister'.
The 'Hocus Pocus' EP was released on Rob's Records in March 1995. By now I was using the labels writing room, a rough and ready set-up in a local Ancoats-based studio complex. Once these tracks weren written, I would take them down the hallway to 'Zombie' studio, run by ex-Yargo drummer Phil Kirby.
The first fruits of these sessions were released as the 'Frolic EP part 1' in September 1995, on the newly formed Rob's subsidiary 'Pleasure' and contained my first big tune, 'Chicken in a Box', alongside 'Bass Baby' & 'Scrough'.
The following EP, 'part 2' released in February 1996 contained a remix of 'Chicken in a Box' by my writing room associates Martin & Liam, using the name 'Programmer's Revenge', as well as a remix of 'Sea Mammal' by a young Andy Votel & Rick Myers. Two new tracks were included, 'Tubby Mechanical Friend', and 'Slug Beats', an accompaniment to the track 'Fat Slug', which was released on the Grand Central compilation 'Frying the Fat'.
Release number four in July 1996 was 'Limbic Funk', which also contained 'Bobby's Jazz Pony', 'Night Time' & it's mellow reprise, 'After Time'. These last three tracks were collaborations with the talented Cornish love god Josef Ward, who lent his keyboard & trumpet skills.
May 1997 The fifth & final final chapter in the Pleasure Records story was the double EP 'Mr. Scruff', the vinyl of which contained a second issue of 'Chicken in a Box', as well as new tracks 'Jazz Potato', 'Bonce', 'Crisps', 'Wail', plus a remix of 'Jazz Potato' by Nightmares On Wax, and fellow Pleasure artists Strangebrew's mix of 'Crisps'.

LP Artwork:

CD Artwork:


Stay informed of all things Paris DJs and beyond thanks to our Twitter news

Comments are closed

You might also like

Paris DJs Private Record Store new arrivals & back in stock vinyl #1

Our little record store in the north-east of Paris is slowly but surely becoming a thing, with more and more friendly people coming by to grab the vinyl (or CDs) they've reserved on our discogs page. We were known for welcoming bands and artists to "studio time & diner", now diggers...
Funkadelic - Reworked By Detroiters

Funkadelic - Reworked By Detroiters (CD/12"/3LP, Westbound, 2017)

Paris DJs' history with George Clinton & the Parliament/Funkadelic crew is a very long one… It culminated first in 2006 when we were asked to cook some exclusive remixes (including a mad dub rework from Grant Phabao, approved by the Dr. Funkenstein himself, you can still grab the free download...