Music Is A Mission

To content | To menu | To search

Midwest Funk - Funk 45s From Tornado Alley - 21 Rare And Unreleased Cuts

djouls golden pepper 2003midwest funk
Midwest Funk - Funk 45s From Tornado Alley - 21 Rare And Unreleased Cuts
(Jazzman Ref. JMANCD 007, 2003)

En 2002, les archéologistes Anglais du funk Jazzman nous avaient gratifié d'une compile "Texas funk" préfacée par Dj Shadow, expert en vieux 45 tours de funk forts en breaks et rare groove, indispensable à tout bon collectionneur de funk. Ils reviennent cette année après avoir poussé un peu plus loin leurs recherches avec une compilation "Midwest funk" qui les a vu arpenter toute la région des États-Unis située entre les Rocheuses et les Appalaches, en gros, à la quête de 45 tours, de bandes et surtout des anecdotes et autorisations des ayants droits afin de signer tous ces titres en toute légalité. L'album est disponible en avant-première sur Ebay (pour 100 CDs et autant de vinyles) en attendant la sortie officielle en Mars 2004 prochain!
Note : **** (Havanito)

Tracklisting :
1 Let's Do it Today - The Us (previously unreleased full length version)
2 Pushin' To The Top - Markus Kelly & the Impassions
3 Soul & Sunshine - Harvey & the Phenomenals
4 Whip It Pt. 1 - The New Establishment In Soul
5 Sissy Walk - Billy Ball & the Upsetters
6 The Hatch - The T.M.G.'s
7 Tell Her - Fred Williams & the Jewels Band
8 Save Me - Wanda Davis
9 It Ain't Fair, But It's Fun Pts 1 & 2 - Fabulous Originals
10 I Don't Want Your Love - Barbara Howard
11 Future II - The Personations & Organization
12 A Day in the Life - Chocolate Snow
13 Master Groove - Henry Peters
14 Color Me - People in the News
15 Mr. Machine Pts 1 & 2 - Chefs
16 Soulful Proclamation - Messengers Incorporated
17 Funky In Here - Dayton Sidewinders
18 Boots' Groove - Soul Toronadoes
19 What-cha Feel Is What-cha Get - Wallace Brothers
20 Trying to Make Ends Meet - Earl English & the Apachies
21 Epitaph Movement - Epitaph
22 It's Not You For Me - Billy Joe Holloman (previously unreleased, CD only)
22 Kool is Back - Billy Joe Holloman (vinyl only)
23 Po Boy's Dream - Illinois Connection (previously unreleased)

Liens :
jazzman records - Le site officiel du label Jazzman


Stay informed of all things Paris DJs and beyond thanks to our Twitter news

Comments are closed

You might also like

Atlantis Jazz Ensemble - Oceanic Suite

Atlantis Jazz Ensemble - Oceanic Suite (CD/LP, Marlow Records, 2016)

Two musicians from the Souljazz Orchestra escape from their main act, into a parallel project, a quintet called the Atlantis Jazz Ensemble — and it's a complete success. No afro-funk grooves and other dancing tunes here, but night-timed, melancholic instrumentals, in the finest tradition of modal...
Tanbou Toujou Lou - Merengue Kompa Kreyou Vodou Jazz & Electric Folklore From Haiti 1960-1981

Various - Tanbou Toujou Lou: Merengue, Kompa Kreyou, Vodou Jazz & Electric Folklore From Haiti 1960-1981 (CD/2LP, Ostinato Records, 2016)

The fantastic archeological work of labels such as Analog Africa, Soundway, Strut and a few others surely must have inspired this compilation of Haitian grooves. The selection is sharp, but in the end built from a majority of unstoppable tunes on any kind of sunshiny dancefloor. The booklet is...