Music Is A Mission

To content | To menu | To search

Lotek Hi-Fi - Mixed Blessings

Lotek Hi-Fi Mixed Blessings
best of 2005Lotek Hi-Fi - Mixed Blessings
(CD/LP) Big Dada BD082, 2005-09-26

Tracklisting :
01. Lotek Hi-Fi - Ram Dancehall feat. Earl J | Go Download MP3
02. Lotek Hi-Fi - How It Go feat. Sandra Melody
03. Lotek Hi-Fi - Blessings
04. Lotek Hi-Fi - Feel No Way
05. Lotek Hi-Fi - What You See
06. Lotek Hi-Fi - Slowburn
07. Lotek Hi-Fi - Dazzla Interlude feat. Shlomo
08. Lotek Hi-Fi - Move Ya Ting feat. Roots Manuva and Sandra Melody
09. Lotek Hi-Fi - Sticks & Stones
10. Lotek Hi-Fi - Showdown
11. Lotek Hi-Fi - Can't Believe feat. Earl J
12. Lotek Hi-Fi - Time Has Come feat. Sandra Melody
13. Lotek Hi-Fi - Diatribe
14. Lotek Hi-Fi - Who's Laughing..?
15. Lotek Hi-Fi - Showdown reprise

CD Promo Artwork:

Press Release :
It's characteristic of the open-mindedness, optimism and sheer drive of Lotek HiFi that they see the history of Black music as a series of blessings, ready to be blended by them into something fresh and unique. If ever an album was about timelessness and warmth as opposed to the fripperies of this weeks "in ting on road" it's "Mixed Blessings," a record that manages to treat the Caribbean heritage of the group's members with reverence but also as a jumping off point for something uniquely English.

With production by long-time Roots Manuva collaborator Wayne 'Lotek' Bennett and a group of dedicated musicians in the wings, "Mixed Blessings" manages to have a unified feel while ranging across styles and genres from bumping hip hop ("Ram Dancehall"), dancehall ("Diatribe"), soca, "ragga-disco" ("Move Ya Ting"), cinematic meditation ("Time Has Come"), classical bounce ("Showdown") and roots reggae ("Sticks & Stones"). Throw in the voices and the mix becomes heady.

Lotek himself offers his lyrics in a gravelly growl, and Aurelius and Wayne Paul deliver the contrasts to make the record fly. Aurelius' voice is deep, dark and warm, not dissimilar to a (very) British Charlie 2na. Wayne Paul adds the soul, his world-weary, uplifting roots-style singing the magic ingredient in the cooking pot. Each of them have their moments to shine individually, but once again it is the blend of the three that is the real blessing.

Throw in guests including Roots Manuva, Sandra Melody and former group member Earl J and the whole represents a mighty step forward from their critically-acclaimed mini album of 2003. Lotek HiFi are ready to bestow blessings and be blessed. Believe.


Stay informed of all things Paris DJs and beyond thanks to our Twitter news

ape ape ·  19 October 2006, 11:58

percolator est particulièrement terrible !!!!

You might also like

Paris DJs Private Record Store new arrivals & back in stock vinyl #1

Our little record store in the north-east of Paris is slowly but surely becoming a thing, with more and more friendly people coming by to grab the vinyl (or CDs) they've reserved on our discogs page. We were known for welcoming bands and artists to "studio time & diner", now diggers...
Funkadelic - Reworked By Detroiters

Funkadelic - Reworked By Detroiters (CD/12"/3LP, Westbound, 2017)

Paris DJs' history with George Clinton & the Parliament/Funkadelic crew is a very long one… It culminated first in 2006 when we were asked to cook some exclusive remixes (including a mad dub rework from Grant Phabao, approved by the Dr. Funkenstein himself, you can still grab the free download...