Music Is A Mission

To content | To menu | To search

Les Claypool - Electric Apricot: Quest For Festeroo (Soundtrack)

Les Claypool Electric Apricot Soundtrack
Les Claypool - Electric Apricot: Quest For Festeroo (Soundtrack)
(CD) Hip-O Records, 2008-03-18

Tracklisting :
01. Hey Are You Going to Burning Man? (*)
02. Backroads of My Mind (*)
03. Uncle Pete's Party (*)
04. Sugar Train Blues (*)
05. Fishing Blues - Henry Thomas
06. Playing in the Band - Bob Weir
07. Time to Confess - Gov't Mule
08. Shady Grove - Jerry Garcia & David Grisman
09. Dire Wolf - Stiff Dead Cat
10. Everybody Ona Move - Michael Franti & Spearhead
11. Calling All Sand Worms - Larry LaLonde
12. Yog Sagoff (Live) (*)

Links :

Press Release :
A young graduate filmmaker from UCLA set forth to make a documentary reflecting an element of contemporary music culture that had yet to be fully examined. The notion was to capture something raw and original. He searched for something unpretentious and genuine, yearning to make a film that would stand out from other music documentaries and potentially redefine the genre. Who he found was a band called Electric Apricot; what he achieved was enlightenment. Unexpectedly, in searching for enlightenment, the duality of existence was unveiled.

In his directorial debut, Primus frontman Les Claypool, has conceived the next cult classic, National Lampoon Presents Electric Apricot: Quest For Festeroo. The documentarian follows the band Electric Apricot as they have been recently offered some opportunities that could potentially break them through to levels beyond their dreams. Following the band into recording their first album, subsequently forcing them to work with their first band psychologist, and eventually going down the road to the Holy Grail of music festivals, Festeroo, this filmtakes an endearing and twisted look at the American cultural phenomenon known as the Jam Band scene.

National Lampoon Presents Electric Apricot: Quest For Festeroo features the only known studio recordings of Electric Apricot, a band with no limits, no fear, and no clue - their anthem "Hey Are You Going To Burning Man?," "Backroads Of My Mind," "Uncle Pete's Party" and "Sugar Train Blues" -plus their epic live 19-minute "Yog Sagoff," recorded in May 2005 in Mill Valley, CA.

Also heard on Quest For Festeroo are the jam gems "Shady Grove" from Grateful Dead legend Jerry Garcia and David Grisman, Bob Weir (Grateful Dead, RatDog) with "Playing In The Band", Gov't Mule led by Warren Haynes (Allman Brothers Band) with "Time To Confess" Primus guitarist Larry LaLonde with his electronic music masterpiece "Calling All Sand Worms," Michael Franti & Spearhead with "Everybody Ona Move", the classic "Fishing Blues" from Henry Thomas, and Stiff Dead Cat with a rockin' tribute to the Dead with their rendition of "Dire Wolf".


Stay informed of all things Paris DJs and beyond thanks to our Twitter news

Comments are closed

You might also like

Brownout - Iron Leg

Premiere : Brownout - Iron Leg (Mickey & The Soul Generation cover)

Austin-based Level One Sound run by our esteemed collegue Adrian Quesada has been the home to many great recordings, from The Funk Ark, Brownout, David Garza, Deer Tick, Natalia Clavier, The Echocentrics, The Electric Peanut Butter Co., Third Root, Money Chicha, etc. - A full fledged...
The Frightnrs - Nothing More To Say

The Frightnrs - Nothing More To Say (CD/LP, Daptone, 2016)

An instant classic, this fantastic reggae-rocksteady album strives directly for legendary status. It's the first album from The Frightnrs, a Brooklyn band signed on the Daptone label, but it'll also be the last one, alas. Dan Klein, the singer with the magical tone, died from ALS last june. Produced...