Music Is A Mission

To content | To menu | To search

Inner City Sounds - Gritty Soul & Underground Funk From The Vaults Of Inner City Records

djouls golden pepper 2003inner city sounds
Inner City Sounds - Gritty Soul & Underground Funk From The Vaults Of Inner City Records
(Luv'n'Haight/Ubiquity Ref. LHCD040 / LHLP040, 2003) Selected by Michael McFadin

Le label Inner City de George Semper était une véritable usine à funk de la côte ouest de États-Unis qui produisit entre 1969 et 1977 un paquet de perles west coast funk soul boogie disco, enfin éditées proprement par nos chouchous de chez Luv N' Haight. Ces gens-là doivent comme nous être friands de Hammond B-3, de Clavinet et autres claviers vintage, et on ne peut que les remercier mille fois pour cette compile danceflooresque en diable.
Note : **** (Havanito)

Tracklisting :
01 Ron and Candy - Plastic Situation
02 George Semper and the Rhythm Kings - It's Your Thing
03 In One Peace - In One Peace
04 Funkafreek - Funkorgy
05 Mary Love - More Love
06 Perfect Circle - The Hands of Time
07 The R&B Classic Funk Band - Thank U
08 Funkhouse with Candy - Tenderness
09 United Soul Association - Sticky Boom Boom
10 Perfect Circle - Spread the News
11 In One Peace - Its Insane
12 The Funkateers - Funkafied
13 Funkproof - Funktime

Liens :
luv n' haight - Le site officiel du label Ubiquity (dont Luv 'n' Haight est un sous-label, spécialisé en rééditions jazz et funk qui déchirent leur grand-mère sur place)


Stay informed of all things Paris DJs and beyond thanks to our Twitter news

Comments are closed

You might also like

Shadow - Sweet Sweet Dreams

Shadow - Sweet Sweet Dreams (CD/2LP, Analog Africa, 2016)

The 22nd Analog Africa release is a beauty people couldn't begin to imagine how the feeling would be to actually be playing it - until now. As rare as it's insanely great, this long-awaited reissue is the holy grail of Shadow albums. The one featuring the monster cosmic soca disco track 'Let’s Get...
Papa Chango - The Lost Moon of Bellaris

Papa Chango - The Lost Moon of Bellaris (Limited LP, self-released, 2016) - Exclusive album stream

Mebourne-based Papa Chango put out in 2012 the band a massive cinematic Ethio-funk album, 'The Matador'. After being featured in four episodes of our podcast and one of our afro compilations, they released in 2014 an epic 4-tracks EP , 'Enter The Dragonfly'. They're now back with a new great record,...