Music Is A Mission

To content | To menu | To search

Honny and the Bees Band - Psychedelic Woman (remixed by Bonobo) / on Sounds Affects Malmaison vol.1

Sounds Affects Malmaison
Various - Sounds Affects Malmaison vol.1
(2xCD) Sound Affects, 2005-11-07

Tracklisting CD1 :
01. Honny and the Bees Band - Psychedelic Woman
02. Dackin Dakino - Yuda
03. Orchestra Lissanga - Okuzua
04. Yahoos - Mabala
05. Dele Sosimi - Turbulent Times
06. Dele Sosimi - Di Bombs
07. Awa-Klash - Akoba
08. Kayode Olajide - Olufela
09. Orlando Julius - Selma to Soweto
10. Oscar Sullay and the Uhuru Dance Band - Bukom Mashie

Tracklisting CD2 :
01. Honny and the Bees Band - Psychedelic Woman (remixed by Bonobo) | Go Stream Track
02. Dackin Dakino - Yuda (remixed by Radio Slave)
03. Orchestra Lissanga - Okuzua (remixed by Zero P:M)
04. Yahoos - Mabala (remixed by Fink) | Go Stream Track
05. Dele Sosimi - Turbulent Times (remixed by Paul Oakenfold)
06. Dele Sosimi - Di Bombs (remixed by The Jinks)
07. Awa-Klash - Akoba (remixed by Way Out West)
08. Kayode Olajide - Olufela (remixed by Adam Freeland)
09. Orlando Julius - Selma to Soweto (remixed by Walkner Hintenaus)
10. Oscar Sullay and the Uhuru Dance Band - Bukom Mashie (remixed by Quantic) | Go Stream Track

Press Release :
Malmaison have joined forces with Bottletop, the UK's most dynamic charity who raise money for HIV affected youth world-wide.

Launched in September 05, the aptly named 'Sound Affects Malmaison' campaign features an Afrofunk CD and music accessories - iPod cases, iPod speaker cases, Bottletop radios, handbags and clothing. All profits from the sales of each item will be donated to the charity.

Bottletop will distribute the funds to five youth-related charities in Africa who will benefit directly from the Sound Affects Malmaison campaign. A truly fair trade.

The First album: Volume 1 Africa

The first album in the series draws on rare, original afrobeat with elements of funk, rock and jazz salvaged from dusty bars and back rooms in remote parts of Africa.

The material, primarily from Ghana and Nigeria has been remixed in the UK by many of our favourite DJs and producers. We have combined the world famous with the up and coming and the commercial with the underground in a collective effort to use African music to help our beneficiaries grow.

Afrobeat, which came to the fore in the late 1960's with artists such as the great Fela Anikulapo Kuti, is an African sound fusing swing, jazz, funk, rock and soaring vocals, with traditional African rythms. The ten original tracks donated for use on the first Sound Affects Malmaison album are, by themselves, a unique body of work written and produced by amongst the most accomplished Afrobeat artists ever to have lived. The ten remixes are a beautifully diverse combination of tracks covering downtempo and blues to house, techno and broken beat.

With the added complication of having to work with old material and tracks without any parts, the job of remixing the Afrobeat on this album was never going to be easy. Despite this, each artist eventually found his own way in to the music, often using varied production techniques in the process. The outcome speaks for itself.

These ten outstanding artists, who gave their time and energy for free, have created a new spin on Afrobeat and African music that should lift people's perceptions of Africa out of the darkness and in to the light.

There is much to celebrate!!

We intend to do just that. Over the next few years we will go on to explore music from South America and Asia through contemporary adaptation. The sales of each record will benefit young people in those areas as well as in the UK through initiatives supported by Bottletop.


Stream tracks :
For more information visit & Artwork :


Stay informed of all things Paris DJs and beyond thanks to our Twitter news

Comments are closed

You might also like

Paris DJs Private Record Store new arrivals & back in stock vinyl #1

Our little record store in the north-east of Paris is slowly but surely becoming a thing, with more and more friendly people coming by to grab the vinyl (or CDs) they've reserved on our discogs page. We were known for welcoming bands and artists to "studio time & diner", now diggers...
Funkadelic - Reworked By Detroiters

Funkadelic - Reworked By Detroiters (CD/12"/3LP, Westbound, 2017)

Paris DJs' history with George Clinton & the Parliament/Funkadelic crew is a very long one… It culminated first in 2006 when we were asked to cook some exclusive remixes (including a mad dub rework from Grant Phabao, approved by the Dr. Funkenstein himself, you can still grab the free download...