Music Is A Mission

To content | To menu | To search

Hexstatic - When Robots Go Bad

Hexstatic - When Robots Go Bad
Hexstatic - When Robots Go Bad
(LP/CD) Ninja Tune ZEN134/ZENCD134, 2007-07-02

Tracklisting :
01. Red Laser Beam
02. Roll Over (feat. Sabirajade)
03. Tokyo Traffic
04. Freak Me (feat. B+)
05. Prom Night Party (Hexstatic remix)
06. TLC
07. Move On (feat. Profisee & Ema J)
08. A Different Place (feat. B+)
09. Subway (feat. Profisee)
10. Lab Rat interlude
11. Newton's Cradle
12. Newaves
13. Bust

Info :
June 2007 sees the release of new Hexstatic audio album 'When Robots Go Bad!' followed by a 'Best Of, Rarities and Remixes' DVD package in the autumn containing all new material and the best of their ten years of audio visual output, much of which has not been available before on DVD.

The new audio album sees them produce a collection of slammming electro pop cuts, taking influences from their love of early electro, acid house and hip hop. The album features vocalist and female MC B + , the tough stylings of MC Profisee and vocalist Ema J from Edinburgh unit Great Ezcape, and the soaring soul voice of London's Sabirajade.

Having met at the Channel 5 launch in March 1997, the duo soon started working together producing the video for Coldcut's 'More Beats and Pieces' and then over the next ten years went on to release the UK's first fully audio visual album 'Rewind', the critically acclaimed 'Listen and Learn' mix for Ninja's Solid Steel series and CD/DVD release 'Master View' (another first containing many '3D!' videos) and in 2006 produced the 'Pick'N'Mix' mix CD for Sanctuary records. They've done video mashups for everyone from Ninja Tune to George Michael?, and directed videos for the likes of Faithless and Shapeshifters. That and a cheeky host bootlegs over the years under the Exactshit moniker!

Since their first tentative shows at early Big Chill events Hexstatic have become one of the worlds premier Audio Visual acts presenting spectacular shows around the globe containing their irreverant take on dance music with big injections of humour and good party times. From dirty AV all-nighters at London's 333 to the massive Electraglide shows in Tokyo. From Working Mens club launch parties in 3D to playing on a wall of water from the middle of the Thames, from illegal Guerilla gigs on the streets of London to their now infamous Halloween sets, Hexstatic have done it all. Well maybe not all?

Press Release :
The dynamic duo, Hexstatic, return to the fray with "When Robots Go Bad," their finest album yet. Taking their electro obsession to greater heights than ever before, "WRGB" finds Robin Brunson and Stuart Warren-Hill mashing up sounds and influences in search of the ultimate machine groove.

From first track "Red Laser Beam" they lay out their wares - crunching guitar samples, huge drum box beats and enough synths to drown a nation beneath a sea of (sine) waves. It's such a euphoric opening that it's hard to imagine how they can keep the pressure up. First single "Roll Over" quickly lays any fears to rest. Featuring new vocal find Sabirajade, this is a swinging groove of heavily-layered keyboards and soulful, sultry vocals. "Tokyo Traffic" takes the tempo up again for an acidic, glitchy, serialist pop-locker of a tune that just about makes sense of the term "future-retro". "Freak Me" features B+, a female MC from Oz, who effortlessly rides a more minimalist, sexy, funky riff. Continuing the sexy theme, "Prom Night Party" is a complete re-work of a classic 'lost' track from Mike Ladd's "Majesticons" project. Electronic ode to love "TLC" gives the boys an opportunity to take the tempo right down, whereas "Move On" (featuring Edinburgh MC Profisee) starts to drive us forward again. B+ returns on "A Different Place", a floating electronic groove that shows she can do much more than rap. "Subway" is another tune for a new generation of breakers, Profisee offering a paen to underground music inspired by the forced fears of a nation. From "Lab Rat" onward the vocoder takes over - "Newton's Cradle," "Newaves" and the superb "Bust" offering an object lesson in the contrasting ways in which synths and drum boxes can be used to create superb, funny, funky, driving dance music.


Stay informed of all things Paris DJs and beyond thanks to our Twitter news

Pancho Pancho ·  22 May 2007, 15:13

Justo hace dos semanas comentabamos con nacho que estarían haciendo los dos nerds de hexstatic. lo espero con ansias a este album

You might also like

Paris DJs Private Record Store new arrivals & back in stock vinyl #1

Our little record store in the north-east of Paris is slowly but surely becoming a thing, with more and more friendly people coming by to grab the vinyl (or CDs) they've reserved on our discogs page. We were known for welcoming bands and artists to "studio time & diner", now diggers...
Funkadelic - Reworked By Detroiters

Funkadelic - Reworked By Detroiters (CD/12"/3LP, Westbound, 2017)

Paris DJs' history with George Clinton & the Parliament/Funkadelic crew is a very long one… It culminated first in 2006 when we were asked to cook some exclusive remixes (including a mad dub rework from Grant Phabao, approved by the Dr. Funkenstein himself, you can still grab the free download...