Music Is A Mission

To content | To menu | To search

Gum Drop - Hi-Falutin

Gum Drop Hi-Falutin
Gum Drop - Hi-Falutin
(CD) Altered Vibes AVBPM005, 2006-03-27

Tracklisting :
01. Gum Drop - Reel (3:18)
02. Gum Drop - (Keeps On) Burning (2:51)
03. Gum Drop - Live Lounge Skit (2:09)
04. Gum Drop - Now I Rise (4:12)
05. Gum Drop - It's On (3:10)
06. Gum Drop - Sinking Feeling (3:19)
07. Gum Drop - Step By Step (4:01)
08. Gum Drop - Block Drop (3:38)
09. Gum Drop - Make It Easy (2:54)
10. Gum Drop - Bass, Drum & Snare Skit (1:01)
11. Gum Drop - Coming Up For Air (3:21)
12. Gum Drop - Electro Gum (2:25)
13. Gum Drop - Take Me Back (3:15)
14. Gum Drop - One Last Chance (4:52)

Press Release :
Despite being an integral part of the UK hip hop scene, musical chameleon Rob Mac has happily spread himself beyond the genre, taking in folk, soul, jazz and even rock in his various projects in the past decade. Having gained notoriety as co-promoter of the infamous Scratch club nights, with long time friend Matt Smooth, the pair decided to roll up their sleeves, hit the studio and commence a myriad of collaborations, most of which grew from their live outfit, Speeka. Since then the fertile duo have produced a number of offspring, including downbeat combo Jumbonics (for Tru Thoughts), Clean, The How, Imperial, and then finally production for poet and raconteur, Roger Robinson.

The Roger Robinson connection introduced Rob Mac to the Altered Vibes family. As a fan of the label's output and open-minded musical outlook, it seemed the perfect place to represent what is, in essence, Rob's first solo project: Gum Drop.

This sweet sounding venture allowed Rob to fuse some of his more interesting and vintage musical equipment with the cutting edge technology in his studio. The sound of Gum Drop, as a result, is that of cohesive contrasts; a collection of tracks that are perfectly contemporary but with a nod to the retro soul and jazz sounds of the past. 'Hi-Falutin' is at once a listening experience and an assortment of cuts that can provide much dance floor joy. It's nothing less than the archetypal electronic soul album for 2006!

Although Gum Drop is essentially a solo project, Rob Mac hooks up with a host of the UK's finest vocalists, and the results are pretty special. Folk-tinged recording artist Randolph Matthews, who Rob met through the Scratch nights, provides some soul stirring moments on the single 'Sinking Feeling', '(Keeps On) Burning' and 'Coming Up For Air'; Norman Anderson, Ealing's finest export, who Rob has been working with for a number of years, delivers dulcet tones on 'It's On', 'Make It Easy' and 'Take Me Back'; and the hugely talented Zena Edwards (a name to watch out for!) adds a little spice on 'Now I Rise'.

It's not only home-grown talent that's in abundance though. Def Harmonic front man Jason Todd also became an essential featured artist after Rob heard his 'Krylon Worlds' single on Altered Vibes in 2004. It's probably true that Todd delivers most of the vocal funk on the album, with 'Step By Step' and the mighty 'Real' sure to do damage on many a discerning dance floor.

The tasty instrumental cuts keep the funk flowing too, and Rob is assisted here by Matt Smooth on drums and percussion, and old pal Lucy Wilkins (4-Hero/Massive Attack) on strings; a trio that makes up the Gum Drop in-house team.


Stay informed of all things Paris DJs and beyond thanks to our Twitter news

Comments are closed

You might also like

Kologbo - Africa Is The Future

Every 6th of the month is now officially Kologbo day !

Kologbo was Fela's tenor guitar player in Afrika 70. He's been teaching Afrobeat all around the world those last years: Berlin with Afrobeat Academy, Brazil with Abayomy Afrobeat Orquestra Iconili or Amplexos, Chile with Newen Afrobeat, Belgium with World Squad, France with Les Frères Smith or...
Pop Makossa - The Invasive Dance Beat of Cameroon 1976-1984

Various - Pop Makossa - The Invasive Dance Beat of Cameroon 1976-1984 (CD/LP, Analog Africa, 2017)

2017 might be Cameroon's year after its victory at the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations, but German label Analog Africa prove once again they're hands-down the world champions of 1970s African music reissues with this funky and irresistible "Pop Makossa" compilation, focusing on the vintage...