Music Is A Mission

To content | To menu | To search

Gomez - How We Operate

gomez how we operate
Gomez - How We Operate
(CD) ATO Records, 2006-05-02

Tracklisting :
01. Notice
02. See The World
03. How We Operate
04. Hamoa Beach
05. Girlshapedlovedrug
06. Chasing Ghosts With Alcohol
07. Tear Your Love Apart
08. Charley Patton Songs
09. Woman ! Man !
10. All Too Much
11. Cry On Demand
12. Don't Make Me Laugh

Press Release :
ATO Records will release the forthcoming full-length album How We Operate from prodigious British rock band Gomez this May. How We Operate marks the quintet's seventh album and is the first studio release for ATO records, following last summer's two-disc live set Out West.

How We Operate finds the band not only working with the support of a new label but also with producer Gil Norton (Pixies, Foo Fighters). For the five members in Gomez - Ben Ottewell (vocals, guitar), Tom Gray (vocals, guitar, keyboards), Ian Ball (vocals, guitar, harmonica) Paul Blackburn (bass, guitar), Olly Peacock (drums) -- the recording process tends to unfold in the studio and incorporates each of its members equally in writing, producing and playing their music. On How We Operate, the band approached this process in an entirely different way.

"I stopped trying to write the things I don't like," Ball sings in the new album's "Notice," "And I started going back to where I'd been before." The lyric is one window into the band's world during this album's creation. It's also a statement of intent for How We Operate: Gomez are making a new start by stripping back coats of paint to find their original finish, and letting their unique musical vision shine through within the framework of concisely crafted tunes.

"What was interesting to me about making this album," said Norton, "is that Gomez had never done pre-production on any of their previous albums so we got together in a room to really work out each song before we recorded them in the studio."

Recorded at RAK Studios in London, this focused approach resulted in a cohesive and accessible collection of songs that feature deft musicianship, lush melodies and the band's poetic yet narrative lyrical style including the powerhouse title track "How We Operate," the uplifting gem "See The World," and the playfully longing "girlshapedlovedrug."

"We think this is the best Gomez record yet and we're proud to be involved," said ATO Records' Michael McDonald. "A lot of hard work went into making it and Gil and the guys delivered a masterpiece."

Known for their transcendent live performances, Gomez is set to debut songs from the new album at this year's SXSW. In addition, the band's three principal songwriters (Ben, Tom and Ian) will also perform for the first time as an acoustic trio on a brief promotional tour to unveil How We Operate to intimate groups of fans in Austin, Denver, Seattle, San Francisco, Los Angeles, and New York.

Gomez burst onto the music scene in 1998, winning the Mercury Prize for their debut album Bring It On, which Spin called "a damn beautiful album." Following, They released Liquid Skin in 1999, and the rarities and B-sides compilation Abandoned Shopping Trolley Hotline a year later. In 2002, the band released In Our Gun. The BBC hailed the band's 2004 album Split The Differences "one of the finest releases of the year." Soon after, Gomez parted ways with their longtime label Virgin. In 2005, they signed with ATO Records who released Out West, Gomez's first live album.


Stay informed of all things Paris DJs and beyond thanks to our Twitter news

Comments are closed

You might also like

Paris DJs Private Record Store new arrivals & back in stock vinyl #1

Our little record store in the north-east of Paris is slowly but surely becoming a thing, with more and more friendly people coming by to grab the vinyl (or CDs) they've reserved on our discogs page. We were known for welcoming bands and artists to "studio time & diner", now diggers...
Funkadelic - Reworked By Detroiters

Funkadelic - Reworked By Detroiters (CD/12"/3LP, Westbound, 2017)

Paris DJs' history with George Clinton & the Parliament/Funkadelic crew is a very long one… It culminated first in 2006 when we were asked to cook some exclusive remixes (including a mad dub rework from Grant Phabao, approved by the Dr. Funkenstein himself, you can still grab the free download...