Music Is A Mission

To content | To menu | To search

Gomez - Five Men in a Hut: Singles 1998-2004

Gomez Five Men in a HutGomez Five Men in a Hut
Gomez - Five Men in a Hut: Singles 1998-2004
(2xCD/DVD) EMO/Virgin, 2006-09-18

Tracklisting :
Disc 1
01. Whipping Piccadilly
02. The Best In Town
03. Catch Me Up
04. Pick Up The Pieces*
05. Royalty*
06. We Haven't Turned Around
07. Coltrane
08. ZYX
09. Step Inside
10. 78 Stone Wobble
11. Flight*
12. Champagne For Monkeys
13. Blind*
14. Old School Shirt
15. Sweet Virginia*
16. Air Hostess Song
17. Ping One Down*
18. Old China (previously unreleased)
Disc 2
01. Rhythm and Blues Alibi
02. Silhouettes*
03. Dire Tribe*
04. Bring It On
05. Mississippi Bo Weevil Blues*
06. Butterfly*
07. Silence
08. Pussyfootin'*
09. Shot Shot*
10. Chickenbones
11. So*
12. Tanglin'*
13. Get Myself Arrested*
14. Sound Of Sounds
15. M57
16. Pop Juice*
17. Big Man
18. Diskoloadout (previously unreleased)

* = U.K. B-side, previously unreleased in the U.S.

Links :

Press release :
A 2-CD 36-track compilation "Five Men In A Hut (A's, B's and rarities: 1998-2004) will be released worldwide in the first week of October. The set includes all of the band's "singles" that were released in the UK and elsewhrere and many of the B-sides included on those singles, most that were never released in the U.S. The B-sides were picked by the band (with much feedback from fans thank you!!). In addition, the set includes two previously unreleased tracks "Old China" and the Olly Peacock-penned "Diskoloadout".

The set won't be in stores for several weeks, but you can preorder the album directly from Gomez's U.S. store. When you order with express shipping, you can guarantee the CD will arrive on your doorstep on the official U.S. release date of October 17.

In addition, the first 500 pre-orders will automatically receive an autographed booklet signed by all five band members. All pre-orders will receive a poster featuring album art designed by longtime Gomez design comrades The Love Police. Finally, by pre-ordering 5 Men In a Hut, you can also order How We Operate at a reduced price. The preorder is waiting for you HERE

The album is available in stores in the following countries on these dates:

Australia - September 30 (CD & DVD)
United States - October 17 (CD only, DVD to be released in January)
United Kingdom - October 2 (CD & DVD)
Germany - September 30 (CD only)

Other countries releasing CD & DVD:
Slovenia, Czech Rep, Denmark, Finland, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary, Italy, Holland, New Zealand, Poland, Portugal, South Africa, Sweden, Thailand, Turkey, Israel, Latvia, Russia and let us not forget ICELAND.

Other countries releasing CD:
Japan, Malaysia, Colombia (huge Gomez fanbase there), Singapore, Taiwan

Even if we only sell 4 CDs in Latvia, it's still a nice looking list.

DVD? What DVD? Oh right

In addition to the 2-CD set, we're releasing a companion DVD also titled Five Men In a Hut. The DVD retrospective chronicles all of the videos the band made during their Hut Records years. The DVD includes twelve music videos, plus some additional live performance and interview footage. The DVD is being released at different times around the world - see above for more info.

Tracklisting :
01. 78 Stone Wobble
02. Get Myself Arrested (Radio Edit)
03. Whippin' Piccadilly
04. Bring It On (Radio Edit)
05. Rhythm And Blues Alibi
06. We Haven't Turned Around (Radio Edit)
07. Machismo
08. Shot Shot
09. Sound Of Sounds
10. Ping One Down
11. Catch Me Up
12. Silence
13. Bring It On Interview
14. Live At The Music Centre, Dublin
15. Liquid Skin Album Launch Showcase
16. Split The Difference Interview

DVD Press release :
UK band Gomez set to release the new DVD "Five Men In A Hut (Singles 1998-2004)". Through the 90s and into the millennium Gomez released a total of 5 studio albums, all of which received widespread critical acclaim - debut Bring It On picking up the Mercury Music Prize for Album Of The Year in '98 - and with releases such as Liquid Skin selling over a quarter of a million in just 3 months. Now almost 10 years on, the finest of their visual offerings have been brought together for the first time on DVD. From their very first single 78 Stone Wobble and including career highlights such as Whipping Piccadilly, Rhythm & Blues Alibi and Get Myself Arrested, this DVD retrospective chronicles their creative output during the Hut Records years. The DVD includes twelve music videos, live performance and interview footage


Stay informed of all things Paris DJs and beyond thanks to our Twitter news

Comments are closed

You might also like

Vincent Ahehehinnou - Best Woman

Vincent Ahehehinnou - Best Woman (LP, Analog Africa, 2017)

The latest Analog Africa reissue is up for pre-order on Bandcamp! The album, originally a 1978 release by Orchestre Poly Rythmo's singer Vincent Ahehehinnou, is rare-as-shit, worth nearly 4 figures if you can find a decent copy. There's only 4 tunes, two afrofunk monsters and two ballads, but...
Shadow - Sweet Sweet Dreams

Shadow - Sweet Sweet Dreams (CD/2LP, Analog Africa, 2016)

The 22nd Analog Africa release is a beauty people couldn't begin to imagine how the feeling would be to actually be playing it - until now. As rare as it's insanely great, this long-awaited reissue is the holy grail of Shadow albums. The one featuring the monster cosmic soca disco track 'Let’s Get...