Music Is A Mission

To content | To menu | To search

Giant Panda - Electric Laser

Giant Panda Electric Laser
Giant Panda - Electric Laser
(CD) Tres Records/Differ-Ant, 2008-05-20

Giant Panda is back! May 20th will see the release of 'Electric Laser', the sophomore effort from the Pandas. The drums are still bangin’ the melodies will still stick in your ears, and lyrically GP has never come fresher. The first single is right around the corner so keeps your ears in tune to the Pandas’ call.

Tracklisting :
01. Laser Beam (Scotty's Theme)
02. Justin Case
03. Ready to Fly
04. Speakers Pop
05. Aim
06. Laser Ray
07. Precise Calculator
08. Same Old $#! +
09. Cinemax
10. Pops
11. Let It Go
12. Do the Robot in Cyberspace
13. Speakers Funk

Links : (french distribution)

Press Release :
Giant Panda, still a symbol of remembering traditions without forgetting progression, is composed of childhood friends Newman and Maanumental(hailing from Seattle) and Chikaramanga(a Tokyo native), with their foundation based out of Los Angeles, CA. The trio’s name is simply an analogy to their ethnic and cultural make-up: what else would you call a group made up of white, black, and Asian guys?

The first single released was "88 Remix" independently in Dec. 2002, with airplay across the globe. The follow up to that was the acclaimed 12-inch single "With It" in September 2004 on Tres Records. "With It" received raves from print critics such as Chairman Mao from XXL.

2005 saw the release of Giant Panda's first full length, Fly School Reunion (Tres Records). FSR recieved great reviews in URB (4 1/2 stars) XXL, XLR8R, HHC, NME and plethora of other international magazines, and became a hit with college radio (#3 on CMJ hip-hop charts).? Giant Panda made URB’s list of the Next 100 in 2005. This buzz allowed Giant Panda to tour the West Coast with fellow Angelino hip-hoppers, People Under The Stairs and Time Machine. In 2006 GP hit the road with Ugly Duckling for a European tour, and then once again that year reached the European shores with People Under The Stairs.

In 2008 we will see the release of Giant Panda’s sophomore effort, Electric Laser. Overall Electric Laser is going to be forward step for Giant Panda, but not so forward to lose fans who appreciated their sound on their previous works.


Stay informed of all things Paris DJs and beyond thanks to our Twitter news

Comments are closed

You might also like

Paris DJs Private Record Store new arrivals & back in stock vinyl #1

Our little record store in the north-east of Paris is slowly but surely becoming a thing, with more and more friendly people coming by to grab the vinyl (or CDs) they've reserved on our discogs page. We were known for welcoming bands and artists to "studio time & diner", now diggers...
Funkadelic - Reworked By Detroiters

Funkadelic - Reworked By Detroiters (CD/12"/3LP, Westbound, 2017)

Paris DJs' history with George Clinton & the Parliament/Funkadelic crew is a very long one… It culminated first in 2006 when we were asked to cook some exclusive remixes (including a mad dub rework from Grant Phabao, approved by the Dr. Funkenstein himself, you can still grab the free download...