Music Is A Mission

To content | To menu | To search

Geraldo Pino and The Heartbeats - Heavy Heavy Heavy

Geraldo Pino and The Heartbeats Heavy Heavy HeavyGeraldo Pino and the Heartbeats Lets Have a PartyGeraldo Pino and the Heartbeats Afro Soco Soul Live
Geraldo Pino & The Heartbeats - Heavy Heavy Heavy (The long-lost hero of Afro Soul Funk)
(CD/2 separate LPs) CD: RetroAfric RETRO20CD / LPs: Soundway SNDWLP005 and SNDWLP006, 2005-08-29

Tracklisting CD :
01. Heavy, Heavy, Heavy
02. Let Them Talk
03. Africans Must Unite
04. Shake Hands
05. Power To The People
06. Let's Have a Party
07. Born To Be Free
08. Man Pass Man, Iron de Cut Iron
09. Right in The Centre
10. On The Spot
11. Black Woman Experience
12. Afro Soco Soul Live

Tracklisting Let's Have a Party LP :
A1. Heavy, Heavy, Heavy 6:40
A2. Let Them Talk 5:17
A3. Africans Must Unite 6:23
B1. Shake Hands 4:56
B2. Power To The People 5:54
B3. Let's Have a Party 4:59
-> MP3 samples

Tracklisting Afro Soco Soul Live LP :
A1. Born To Be Free 6:37
A2. Man Pass Man, Iron de Cut Iron 6:22
A3. Right in The Centre 6:27
B1. On The Spot 5:20
B2. Black Woman Experience 5:34
B3. Afro Soco Soul Live 6:30
-> MP3 samples

Press Release :
Geraldo Pino (aka Gerald Pine) is one of the hidden heroes of African popular music. A singer, guitarist and bandleader from Sierra Leone, Geraldo had a major influence on the burgeoning soul/funk/Afrobeat scene in West Africa during the 1960s and 70s. He made a huge impression on the young Fela Kuti who praised him effusively but his music has remained largely unheard for the past 30 years.
Pino's party grooves and the Funk Imperative which underlines his musical philosophy make these dance tracks sound just as vital today as they did back then.


Stay informed of all things Paris DJs and beyond thanks to our Twitter news

Comments are closed

You might also like

Brownout - Iron Leg

Premiere : Brownout - Iron Leg (Mickey & The Soul Generation cover)

Austin-based Level One Sound run by our esteemed collegue Adrian Quesada has been the home to many great recordings, from The Funk Ark, Brownout, David Garza, Deer Tick, Natalia Clavier, The Echocentrics, The Electric Peanut Butter Co., Third Root, Money Chicha, etc. - A full fledged...
The Frightnrs - Nothing More To Say

The Frightnrs - Nothing More To Say (CD/LP, Daptone, 2016)

An instant classic, this fantastic reggae-rocksteady album strives directly for legendary status. It's the first album from The Frightnrs, a Brooklyn band signed on the Daptone label, but it'll also be the last one, alas. Dan Klein, the singer with the magical tone, died from ALS last june. Produced...