Music Is A Mission

To content | To menu | To search

Fort Knox Recordings -The New Gold Standard

Fort Knox Recordings The New Gold StandardFort Knox Recordings The New Gold Standard
best of 2006Fort Knox Recordings -The New Gold Standard
(CD) Fort Knox Recordings FKX-007, 2006-05-17

Tracklisting :
01. The Fort Knox Five feat. Afrika Bambaataa &, King Kamonzi - Radio Free D.C.
02. The Fort Knox Five feat. Akil Dasan - Blowing Up The Spot
03. The Fort Knox Five - Brazilian Hipster
04. Rex Riddem feat. Carlos Scorpiao - Salvador Diaspora (FK5 Remix)
05. Speedy Consuela - Sundaydream
06. The Fort Knox Five feat Jah Kamonzi - Once Again
07. The Fort Knox Five - The Big Score
08. Speedy Consuela - Sukka Suited
09. The Fort Knox Five feat. Mustafa Akbar - Dodge City Rockers
10. International Velvet Five feat. Mustafa Akbar - Baby Shiva
11. Liftoff - Shine
12. International Velvet Five feat. Mustafa Akbar - Chariot (Interplanetary Mix)
13. Liftoff - Autumn
14. Liftoff - Kool It Man

Links :

Press Release :
The New Gold Standard is the debut CD release from Fort Knox Recordings, featuring newly minted sounds from the Fort Knox Five, Rex Riddem, Speedy Consuela, International Velvet, and Liftoff. With The New Gold Standard, the Fort Knox Five have compiled a collection of breakthrough singles and some vault classics to showcase the groundbreaking sounds of their premier funk and breaks label.
To kick things off, Afrika Bambaataa and King Kamonzi help deliver a statement straight to the Capitol in Radio Free DC. Akil Dasan is heard Blowing Up the Spot in one of the earliest FK5 productions. Followed up by the instant classic, The Brazilian Hipster. Which has been featured on numerous compilations, including the illustrious Hotel Costes Sept. Rex Riddem meets Carlos Scorpiao in Bahia, the African state of Brasil, to create Salvador Diaspora. Add a little twist of FK5 and you have a bouncing latin funk bomb. Speedy Consuela drop Sundaydream. A chillout anthem for any laidback afternoon. Jah Kamonzi goes into dub mode on the new exclusive Fort Knox Five track, Once Again. Followed by The Big Score, a superfunk soundtrack reminescent to a '70s bank heist. Speedy Consuela returns with the Indie pop nugget, Sukka Suited, a call to arms for all you mod cons out there. The Fort Knox Five picks up the pace with the scorching Dodge City Rockers, featuring Mustafa Akbar rocking the funk. The unique voice of Thievery Corporation collaborator, Roots of See-I, is featured on International Velvet's deep rocker, Baby Shiva. Liftoff makes it debut with Shine, a brit-beat groover filled with flower power harmonies. Mustafa returns with his out of this world vocal stylings, this time teaming up with International Velvet, for the interplanetary mix of Chariot. The journey continues with Liftoff's Autumn, a sitar soaked pschedelic narrative taking you through strawberry fields with the Walrus and the Eggman. What better way to end this spliffed out mission than with Kool It Man. Liftoff takes us out of here with a crazy sonic venture made for any latenight session.
With The New Gold Standard, the Fort Knox Five take things to a new level, bringing 14 songs that represent the past, present and future of their label.


Stay informed of all things Paris DJs and beyond thanks to our Twitter news

Carlos Scorpiao Carlos Scorpiao ·  18 December 2006, 08:50

Salvador Diaspora is only part of my job I am just now beggining a record of my first CD after almost 30 years composing and singing. Many sites don´t have information about me: I was born in Salvador, Bahia, Brasil and live here alltough knowing other countries. I am musician, percussionist but I play guitar at least to make my songs to share my lyrics. As professional I work as Tour Guide than if you want instruments and rithms seminar or even enjoy the music in Salvador come you are in the right way as musician-guide you could find nothing better! Email´s or You can also find my music in the Cd of Olodum, Atlantida is the music title.

You might also like

Paris DJs Private Record Store new arrivals & back in stock vinyl #1

Our little record store in the north-east of Paris is slowly but surely becoming a thing, with more and more friendly people coming by to grab the vinyl (or CDs) they've reserved on our discogs page. We were known for welcoming bands and artists to "studio time & diner", now diggers...
Funkadelic - Reworked By Detroiters

Funkadelic - Reworked By Detroiters (CD/12"/3LP, Westbound, 2017)

Paris DJs' history with George Clinton & the Parliament/Funkadelic crew is a very long one… It culminated first in 2006 when we were asked to cook some exclusive remixes (including a mad dub rework from Grant Phabao, approved by the Dr. Funkenstein himself, you can still grab the free download...