Music Is A Mission

To content | To menu | To search

Fink - Distance And Time

fink distance and time
Fink - Distance And Time
(CD/LP) Ninja Tune ZEN136/ZEND136, 2007-10-01

Tracklisting :
01. Trouble's What You're In
02. This Is The Thing
03. If Only
04. Blueberry Pancakes
05. Get Your Share
06. Under The Same Stars
07. So Many Roads
08. Make It Good
09. Little Blue Mailbox

Links :

LP Artwork:

Press Release :
If "Biscuits for Breakfast", Fink's debut album for Ninja Tune, traded, at least in part, on a seismic musical shift for both artist and label, then "Distance and Time" raises the game for both parties. This latest album is the result of a frenetic live schedule over the past year - Fink, together with bassist Guy Whittaker and drummer Tim Thornton, having played dozens of festivals, over a hundred shows, and even a Zero 7 support tour.

On this record Fink handed over production to Lamb's Andy Barlow, and the resultant album is noticeably bigger, and more sophisticated, than its predecessor. Boldly, "Distance and Time" starts not with a bang, but the whispered introduction of "Trouble's What You're In", so slight that you fear for its own safety.

"There are no samples, and we've kept the electronic trickery to a minimum on this record", explains Fink. "I think that the songs have enough gravitas and emotional punch to get through without all of that, and I was very conscious of not being a touchy-feely photocopy of someone from the seventies or whatever. Our experience on the road has been that most Fink fans aren't the same people who are into James Morrison or Paulo Nutini. Maybe that's a Ninja Tune thing, or it's in the songs - but it seems I'm the guitar-based artist you're allowed to like if you don't like most of the other stuff out there..."

"This is the Thing", the second track on the album and lead single, continues the build. The lyrics, dying embers of a failing relationship, are resilient but brittle, delivered with matter-of-fact honesty: "…the things that keep us apart, keep me alive." Following on from the stripped-back and painfully regretful "If Only", "Blueberry Pancakes" ups the pace - the rhythm section hammering out the cut, as Fink's guitar has no choice but to go electric. "I'm not an angry bloke", Fink explains, "but if I do get angry, I internalise it and I think you can feel that tension in the album. There's a line on the song ‘Get Your Share' which sounds almost jovial, but in my head I feel so angry, it's a little aside that means a lot to me, and would certainly mean a lot to the other person. There is something about a love song which everyone on the planet can relate to, whether they're in love or out of love, hating love or loving love."

"Under the Same Stars" and "So Many Roads" both signify greater ambition in Fink's sound and writing, their meteoric arrangements reminiscent of the best records of the new acoustic movement. On "Make It Good" the paper-thin beats and almost a cappella introduction reflect the fragile sentiment of the song itself - optimistically hoping to put a broken relationship ‘back together, piece by piece.' The closing minutes of the album are perhaps most telling of Fink's time on the road, the epic "Little Blue Mailbox" having strayed as far from the DJ booth as can be...


Stay informed of all things Paris DJs and beyond thanks to our Twitter news

Ninja Freaks Ninja Freaks ·  06 July 2007, 07:05

I've corrected the tracklisting thanks to Laura@Ninja Tune.

Previous tracklisting was copied from the first demo CD of the album.
I keep it here for completly ninja-obsessed people:
01. Soft Target 4:29
02. Little Blue Mailbox 4:11
03. If Only 4:23
04. Gonna Get Your Share 3:17
05. Make It Good 3:42
06. This Is The Thing 4:37
07. Distance & Time 4:06
08. Under The Same Sters 4:08
09. Blueberry Pancakes 4:23


Ninja Freaks Ninja Freaks ·  04 September 2007, 11:52

Please, Don't show here links to download albums and go to support the artist. Always if is a good artist. Needlework records shut down for this reason and we want music no labels closeds. thanks

You might also like

Paris DJs Private Record Store new arrivals & back in stock vinyl #1

Our little record store in the north-east of Paris is slowly but surely becoming a thing, with more and more friendly people coming by to grab the vinyl (or CDs) they've reserved on our discogs page. We were known for welcoming bands and artists to "studio time & diner", now diggers...
Funkadelic - Reworked By Detroiters

Funkadelic - Reworked By Detroiters (CD/12"/3LP, Westbound, 2017)

Paris DJs' history with George Clinton & the Parliament/Funkadelic crew is a very long one… It culminated first in 2006 when we were asked to cook some exclusive remixes (including a mad dub rework from Grant Phabao, approved by the Dr. Funkenstein himself, you can still grab the free download...