Music Is A Mission

To content | To menu | To search

Felix Laband -Dark Days Exit

Felix Laband Dark Days Exit
best of 2006Felix Laband -Dark Days Exit
(CD/LP) Fort Knox Recordings COMPOST185, 2005-06-27

Tracklisting CD :
01. Whistling In Tongues 8:02
02. Miss Teardrop 3:29
03. Dirty Nightgown 5:52
04. Falling Off A Horse 5:19
05. Sleeping Household 5:22
06. Crooked Breath 5:59
07. Red Handed 8:35
08. Black Shoes 5:48
09. Radio Right Now 7:38
10. Minka 10:25

Tracklisting LP :
A1. Crooked Breath
A2. Dirty Nightgown
A3. Whistling In Tongues (vinyl edit)
A4. Black Shoes (alternative version)
B1. Miss Teardrop
B2. Sleeping Household
B3. Radio Right Now
B4. Underneath The Skin (exclusive on vinyl)

Press Release :
"Dark Days Exit" is showing the artificial intelligence and sensitivity of electronica, indie pop, folk, post rock and old school ambience with warm jazz elements, and reminds a bit of French film soundtracks, too. LISTEN CAREFULLY! With its fine subtle electronica and sublime moody electro tingles we think this album is very special. "Like liquid LSD" (Rage /ZA) It touches base to the worlds of Stereolab, Notwist, Console, Plaid or these likes, as well as it please the Compost old school fans, because some people say it reminds them of A Forest Mighty Black, Taran or others say it has the early Kruder & Dorfmeister vibe. Indeed a bit of everything, but unique enough to stay alone as an outstanding album 2005. Both Peter Kruder and Richard Dorfmeister loved the album from the first note and gave us top quotes. The artist is a little star in South Africa, a cool looking and very inspired guy, who had two albums previously released on African Dope Records. But this album could be his breakthrough. For sure he makes an interesting interview partner.

Background info :

"Laband is still in his twenties. Maritzburg-born, Durban-bread and Cape Town-based. He thankfully took up computer music instead of surfing, and was in various guitar-based bands (including Fingerhead) before having a solo piece included on the Koert Kotze en die Vrouekolonie CD. Laband´s fiendish and phat foray into introspective electronics was highly promising and the highlight of a critically acclaimed project. He also had two notable inclusions on the excellent Sound of the Durban Underground collection. He already produced two fantastic albums, but this time he's going real deep and shows us his "Dark Days Exit".

As Felix told U.K. magazine "Dazed & Confused", "That South Africa is a land of weird contrasts which definitely comes through in my music. I'm not afraid to throw things around. A lot of European stuff is quite formulistic, people stick to a certain sound and a specific way of doing things. I try to throw that out of the window."

Felix Laband

"An Electric Boy Wonder!"
(Greg Bowes)

The music of South Africa's premier electronic musician, is fluid and deceptively simple, freakish, quirky but user-friendly, funky and day-dreamy. Polyphonic funk like the sound-adventures of Warp´s "Boards Of Canada", "Autechre" or "Aphex Twin" and measures at the same time the dope downtempo flavour of their label-mates "Nightmares On Wax". If one had to categorise the musical style of Felix Laband he would have to create a new genre called "Indietronica". There's a level of professionalism in his work that is breathtaking.

He is a sheep in a wolf's clothing...looking like a tough rock-star makes it really hard to believe that this guy produces music softer as soft can be. He is one of the best Electronic Acts in South African today. This piece is gonna take you on a journey from which you never will return. Follow Felix into his brave new world of music...

By the way, Felix is not only a super talented musician, Felix is more a kind of artistic all-rounder. He is a graphic designer, a video artist and a sound designer for movies. He did the covers and the whole artworks for all his records of course also with "Dark Days Exit". Also he produced two really innovative music videos for his last album. Felix is a true artist who is reaching out for more.


Stay informed of all things Paris DJs and beyond thanks to our Twitter news

Comments are closed

You might also like

Kologbo - Africa Is The Future

Every 6th of the month is now officially Kologbo day !

Kologbo was Fela's tenor guitar player in Afrika 70. He's been teaching Afrobeat all around the world those last years: Berlin with Afrobeat Academy, Brazil with Abayomy Afrobeat Orquestra Iconili or Amplexos, Chile with Newen Afrobeat, Belgium with World Squad, France with Les Frères Smith or...
Pop Makossa - The Invasive Dance Beat of Cameroon 1976-1984

Various - Pop Makossa - The Invasive Dance Beat of Cameroon 1976-1984 (CD/LP, Analog Africa, 2017)

2017 might be Cameroon's year after its victory at the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations, but German label Analog Africa prove once again they're hands-down the world champions of 1970s African music reissues with this funky and irresistible "Pop Makossa" compilation, focusing on the vintage...