Music Is A Mission

To content | To menu | To search

Dub Pistols - Speakers and Tweeters

Dub Pistols - Speakers and Tweeters
(CD) Sunday Best SBESTCD16, 2007-04-09

Tracklisting :
01. Speed Of Light feat. Blade
02. Peaches feat. Rodney P.
03. Speakers And Tweeters
04. Running From The Thoughts feat. Terry Hall
05. Rapture feat. Terry Hall
06. Cruise Control
07. Open
08. You'll Never Find feat. Rodney P.
09. Gangsters feat. Terry Hall
10. Something To Trust feat. Rodney P.
11. Mach 10 feat. TK
12. Stronger
13. Gave You Time

Links :

Press Release :
Barry Ashworth and Jason O'Bryan AKA the Dub Pistols have spent the best part of a decade at the forefront of Beats culture. From their early singles for Concrete Records to their genre defying 'Six Million Ways To Live' long player, the Dub Pistols have always added a much needed Rock n Roll swagger to the UK's dance scene. Chewing up hip-hop, dub, techno, ska and punk and spitting them out in a renegade futuristic skank they have consistently defied categorisation and exceeded the highest of expectations.

Their genre-mashing abilities have led to remix work for the likes of Moby, Crystal Method, Limp Bizkit, Bono, Korn & Ian Brown, and has seen them work with hip-hop legend Busta Rhymes on 'One', a track for the Blade 2 soundtrack and 'Molotov' on the Y Tu Mama Tambien soundtrack. In recent years the band has mutated from a studio based duo into a fully fledged live act, including the talents of UK Hip Hop don Rodney P, the maverick and mercurial former Specials front man Terry Hall, US rap wünderkind T.K., Sugardaddy horn-blower Tim Hutton and scratch maestro DJ Stix.

Their third album 'Speakers And Tweeters', released on 9th April 2007, through Rob da Bank's Sunday Best label, is a consummate statement of intent. Their most accessible to date, the album's 13 tracks draw on a rich tapestry of influences, weaving tight beats and even tighter rhymes into a refined and assured set. The stirring chords and laid-back beats of 'Speed of Light', featuring Blade's skilful flow, opens the album in style. An inspired cover of Punk legends The Stranglers' classic 'Peaches', immediately grabs the attention, with the vocal dexterities of Rodney P and Terry Hall taking centre stage, before the pumping, angular funk of the album's title track 'Speakers And Tweeters' takes hold. A deeply ingrained skank runs throughout the album, as ably demonstrated on the horn-driven 'Running From The Thoughts'.

The album's lead single, released on 12th March, sees the Dub Pistols taking Blondie's 'Rapture' and booting it firmly into the future, with Terry Hall's laconic delivery adding an insouciant edge. Following hard on its heels is the bumping krunk of 'Cruise Control', harking back to the classic era of street beats and Electro. The Disco strut of 'Open' and the Black Ark stylings of 'You'll Never Find' keep things on the boil before the Dub Pistols drop a bold cover. A superlative version of The Specials' seminal 'Gangsters' sees Terry Hall, a quarter of a century wiser, reprising his vocal role, giving the 2-Tone classic a knowing air, underpinned by the band's groove juggernaut.

Channelling the spirit of Dr Dre on the anthemic 'Something To Trust', the Dub Pistols approach the last few tracks in full on intergalactic hip-hop mode. 'Mach 10's rolling beats are given an authentic treatment with T.K.'s super slick delivery taking things to the next level. 'Stronger's Roots Reggae lilt and the reflective 'Gave You Time' provide a polished denouement to what is undoubtedly the Dub Pistols' finest hour.


Stay informed of all things Paris DJs and beyond thanks to our Twitter news

Comments are closed

You might also like

Paris DJs Private Record Store new arrivals & back in stock vinyl #1

Our little record store in the north-east of Paris is slowly but surely becoming a thing, with more and more friendly people coming by to grab the vinyl (or CDs) they've reserved on our discogs page. We were known for welcoming bands and artists to "studio time & diner", now diggers...
Funkadelic - Reworked By Detroiters

Funkadelic - Reworked By Detroiters (CD/12"/3LP, Westbound, 2017)

Paris DJs' history with George Clinton & the Parliament/Funkadelic crew is a very long one… It culminated first in 2006 when we were asked to cook some exclusive remixes (including a mad dub rework from Grant Phabao, approved by the Dr. Funkenstein himself, you can still grab the free download...