Music Is A Mission

To content | To menu | To search

David Axelrod - The Edge: David Axelrod at Capitol Records 1966-1970

david axelrod the edge
David Axelrod - The Edge: David Axelrod at Capitol Records 1966-1970
(CD/2xLP) Blue Note, 2005-09-13

Tracklisting :
01. House of Mirrors (David McCallum)
02. The Edge (David McCallum)
03. Pula Yetla (Letta Mbulu)
04. Lifetime Monolouge (Lou Rawls)
05. You've Made Me So Very Happy (Lou Rawls)
06. The Smile (David Axelrod)
07. Song of Innocence (David Axelrod)
08. The Mental Traveler (David Axelrod)
09. A Divine Image (David Axelrod)
10. London (David Axelrod)
11. The Fly (David Axelrod)
12. Human Abstract (David Axelrod)
13. Warning Talk Part One (David Axelrod)
14. Warning Talk Part Three (David Axelrod)
15. The Signs Part One (David Axelrod)
16. Theme From The Fox (Don Randi)
17. Tensity (Cannonball Adderley)

Press Release :
Though he worked for a series of labels over the course of his storied career, David Axelrod is best known as one of Capitol Records' foremost producers during the company's glory years in the 1960s. Under his production, actor David McCallum released four albums; soulster Lou Rawls released a countless number of LPs (including his first gold album, Lou Rawls Live); Cannonball Adderly released Mercy, Mercy, Mercy (1966), one of the highest selling jazz albums of all time; and countless artists from Letta Mbulu to Common People released albums that spanned the gamut from funky African folk to psychedelic rock. Axelrod himself released three albums as a solo artist on Capitol - Songs of Innocence (1968), Songs of Experience (1969), and Earth Rot (1970) - the first of which even legendary producer Quincy Jones admitted was the immediate precursor to jazz-fusion.

David Axelrod was instrumental in creating the Black Music division at Capitol Records in the mid-'60s, and had a string of hit albums with artists such as soul singer Lou Rawls and jazz saxophonist Cannonball Adderley. Today he is best known in the hip-hop world for three albums he released on Capitol under his own name between 1968-1970. Songs of Innocence, Songs of Experience, Earth Rot, and other ancillary Axelrod productions are among the most sampled records in hip-hop history, having been mined by producers as varied as Madlib, DJ Shadow, and Dr. Dre, Mos Def, and many others.

Original LPs that Axelrod produced are coveted among DJs and crate-diggers. This definitive retrospective is the first release to put his career in its proper context and present it with the sonic quality it merits.

Produced by Eothen "Egon" Alapatt


Stay informed of all things Paris DJs and beyond thanks to our Twitter news

michael clifton michael clifton ·  21 July 2008, 22:52

Someone should be pursuing a copyright infringement case against Phil Collins regarding his outright thieving from the Axelrod tune The Dream (Songs Of Innocence) for his megahit You And Me In Paradise.

You might also like

Brownout - Iron Leg

Premiere : Brownout - Iron Leg (Mickey & The Soul Generation cover)

Austin-based Level One Sound run by our esteemed collegue Adrian Quesada has been the home to many great recordings, from The Funk Ark, Brownout, David Garza, Deer Tick, Natalia Clavier, The Echocentrics, The Electric Peanut Butter Co., Third Root, Money Chicha, etc. - A full fledged...
The Frightnrs - Nothing More To Say

The Frightnrs - Nothing More To Say (CD/LP, Daptone, 2016)

An instant classic, this fantastic reggae-rocksteady album strives directly for legendary status. It's the first album from The Frightnrs, a Brooklyn band signed on the Daptone label, but it'll also be the last one, alas. Dan Klein, the singer with the magical tone, died from ALS last june. Produced...