Music Is A Mission

To content | To menu | To search

CunninLynguists - A Piece Of Strange

Cunninlynguists A Piece Of Strange
best of 2006CunninLynguists - A Piece Of Strange
(CD) The LA Underground, 2006-01-24

Tracklisting :
01. Where Will You Be?
02. Since When
03. Nothing to Give
04. Caved In (feat. Cee-Lo Green) | Download MP3
05. Hourglass
06. Beautiful Girl
07. Inhale (interlude)
08. Brain Cell
09. America Loves Gangsters (feat. Tim Means)
10. Never Know Why (feat. Immortal Technique)
11. The Gates (feat. Tonedeff)
12. Damnation (interlude)
13. Hellfire
14. Remember Me (Abstract/Reality)
15. What'll You Do?
16. The Light (feat. Club Dub)

Notes : The first 5,000 national chain-store copies will be a double-CD including instrumentals for the entire album

Links :
"Caved In (feat. Cee-Lo)" MP3 on

Press Release :
CunninLynguists, the multifaceted duo from the Dirty South, aim to make music that reminds listeners why they started to enjoy hip-hop in the first place. Backed with gritty beats, quality rhymes and low ends that jump out the trunk like Rae Carruth, the 'Lynguists intend on recapturing the soul in southern hip-hop. With what Spin Magazine calls "Outkast's tragicomic poignancy", Deacon The Villain and Kno follow in the footsteps of artists like Goodie Mob, Witchdocter, Ya'll So Stupid, Geto Boys and the aforementioned 'Kast, as well as recent southern indie artists such as Little Brother, in painting a picture meant to remind the world that politics, death, racism, relationships, religion and struggle are just as relevant to life below the Mason-Dixon as anywhere else.

Their critically acclaimed debut LP, Will Rap For Food, was released in October 2001. CunninLynguists were joined by Floridian emcee Mr. SOS for their 2nd LP, Southernunderground, which was independently released April 1, 2003 on Freshchest Records. Guests included Masta Ace, Supastition and others, with production from Domingo (Tony Yayo, Talib Kweli, Big Pun etc.), RJD2 (Mos Def, etc.), and Kno. After the release of Southernunderground, CunninLynguists received tremendous press in various outlets including The Source, URB Magazine, Spin, XLR8R, Import Tuner, The Onion, and others. The group toured throughout the USA, Canada and Europe in 2003, 2004 and 2005, appearing onstage alongside acts like Nappy Roots, Cee-Lo of Goodie Mob, People Under the Stairs, Raekwon of Wu-Tang Clan and Brand Nubian. The group's success with such limited distribution and budget helped win Freshchest Records a distribution contract with Caroline Distribution, and Southernunderground was the first project re-released after inking the deal in 2004.

Kno, hailing from Georgia and currently residing in Lexington, Kentucky, has been described as "one of the top loop-miners east of the Mississippi" by URB. He produced the majority of Will Rap For Food and Southernunderground, and has also recieved critical acclaim in The NY Times, Rolling Stone and other magazines for his remix of Jay-Z's Black Album, entitled Kno vs. Hov : The White Al-bu-lum. Elemental Magazine suggested Kno "[will definitely be] known by all very soon", and JuJu of the legendary hip-hop group The Beatnuts (as interviewed by feels the same: Kno is an up-and-coming producer to keep an eye on. Those blessing Kno tracks on upcoming projects include Immortal Technique and many others.

Hailing from Versailles, Kentucky, Deacon has also established himself as a producer. His beats have been rocked by the likes of KRS-One, King Tee, J-Ro from The Liks as well as local Kentucky artists such as Rob Jackson and Bonafide Circle. The son of a reverend, his ear for melody and church trained voice have also landed him hook work for Sean Price, Ruff Ryders and more.

The duo has already begun work as a production duo under the banner A Piece Of Strange Music, currently producing the entirety of the next project from Dungeon Family's own Witchdoctor.

CunninLynguists released their third LP, A Piece Of Strange, worldwide on January 24th via Caroline and Groove Attack Distribution. It features guest spots from Cee-Lo Green, Immortal Technique and Tonedeff and is entirely produced by Kno. A Piece Of Strange is a concept album which will see an accompanying straight-to-DVD film release in 2006.


Stay informed of all things Paris DJs and beyond thanks to our Twitter news

Comments are closed

You might also like

Paris DJs Private Record Store new arrivals & back in stock vinyl #1

Our little record store in the north-east of Paris is slowly but surely becoming a thing, with more and more friendly people coming by to grab the vinyl (or CDs) they've reserved on our discogs page. We were known for welcoming bands and artists to "studio time & diner", now diggers...
Funkadelic - Reworked By Detroiters

Funkadelic - Reworked By Detroiters (CD/12"/3LP, Westbound, 2017)

Paris DJs' history with George Clinton & the Parliament/Funkadelic crew is a very long one… It culminated first in 2006 when we were asked to cook some exclusive remixes (including a mad dub rework from Grant Phabao, approved by the Dr. Funkenstein himself, you can still grab the free download...