Music Is A Mission

To content | To menu | To search

Charles Wright & Watts 103rd St. Band - Live At The Haunted House - May 18, 1968

Charles Wright Watts 103rd St Band
Charles Wright & Watts 103rd St. Band - Live At The Haunted House - May 18, 1968
(2xCD) Rhino Records R2 7771, 2008-05-02

Tracklisting CD1 :
01. Intro
02. The Joker
03. Get Ready
04. Come See About Me
05. Papa's Got A Brand New Bag
06. I Can't Turn You Loose
07. Philly Dog
08. Ain't Too Proud To Beg/(I Know) I'm Losing You
09. Mustang Sally
10. I Can't Turn You Loose (Reprise)
11. Intro To Set 2
12. Something You Got
13. Dance To The Music
14. Fried Neck Bones
15. (Sittin' On) The Dock Of The Bay
16. (Your Love Keeps Lifting Me) Higher And Higher
17. Bottomless
18. Stormy Monday

Tracklisting CD2 :
01. Respect/Satisfaction
02. Day Tripper
03. Funky Broadway
04. Do Your Thing
05. Band Intros
06. (I Wanna) Testify
07. I Can't Turn You Loose (Reprise)
08. Sweet Lorene
09. Misunderstanding
10. I've Been Loving You Too Long (To Stop Now)
11. Knock On Wood
12. (I'm A) Road Runner
13. Try A Little Tenderness
14. Papa's Got A Brand New Bag (Version 2)
15. Something You Got (Version 2)
16. Beauty Is Only Skin Deep
17. Since I Lost My Baby
18. Stand By Me
19. We're A Winner/I Can't Turn You Loose (Reprise)

Note : An individually numbered limited edition of 5000 Copies

Links :
Official site
Buy it now on
Read a recent interview on

Press Release :
"I definitely wanted some live stuff. I was influenced by James Brown's Live At The Apollo and thought it was something I could pull off with my band." - Charles Wright

And pull it off they did. When Charles Wright And The Watts 103rd Street Rhythm Band took the stage at the storied-and long-gone-Hollywood nightclub the Haunted House on a spring night in 1968 to record a live album, they were already a regularly-scheduled house favorite at the venue. Mixed from the original four-track tapes, Rhino Handmade's 2-CD live recording LIVE AT THE HAUNTED HOUSE captures the well-oiled band in top form, pumping out funk and soul for the masses pounding the dancefloor and making the scene.

It also represents the group at a watershed moment, as they began to evolve from a dance band into a creative force that eventually defined a signature soul style known as the "L.A. sound". While their classic song "Express Yourself" wouldn't come for another two years, Wright and company do that and more on this electrifying set.

The line-up featured on LIVE AT THE HAUNTED HOUSE is the third iteration of The Watts 103rd Street Rhythm Band: singer/guitarist Charles Wright, bassist Melvin Dunlap, drummer James Gadson, guitarist Al McKay, saxophonists John Rayford and Bill Cannon, trumpeter Gabriel Flemings and trombonist Ray Jackson (trumpeter Joe Banks was absent from this gig).

Leading up to this, the group had gained notoriety recording and playing live with Bill Cosby, and had released one album, Hot Heat & Sweet Groove, for Warner Bros Records. A portion of what's heard here would subsequently be edited for their second album, 1968's Together. In its entirety, the show is a riveting portrait of the pioneering group's funk, soul and muscle.

One highlight is key-the gig marked the moment when one of their signature hits, "Do Your Thing," emerged. As Oliver Wang writes in his liner notes: "After grooving on 'Funky Broadway,' the band laid down a simple rhythm line and began to build in power; Wright saw an opportunity emerge: 'I looked down at the dance floor, and everybody was dancing, and that's how I coined the phrase 'Everybody get on the floor, do your thing now.' The moment was spontaneous and could have happened on any other night, but that night the machines were running. When Wright took the recordings home and listened to that passage, he heard more than just a rhythmic interlude-there was a song buried there. 'We recorded on Saturday night,' he said. 'On Monday I went to the studio and I cut it out and took it home.' After some editing, 'Do Your Thing' was born".

Experience it on Rhino Handmade's LIVE AT THE HAUNTED HOUSE, available exclusively from in a numbered, limited edition of 5,000 copies at $29.98.


Stay informed of all things Paris DJs and beyond thanks to our Twitter news

Comments are closed

You might also like

Paris DJs Private Record Store new arrivals & back in stock vinyl #1

Our little record store in the north-east of Paris is slowly but surely becoming a thing, with more and more friendly people coming by to grab the vinyl (or CDs) they've reserved on our discogs page. We were known for welcoming bands and artists to "studio time & diner", now diggers...
Funkadelic - Reworked By Detroiters

Funkadelic - Reworked By Detroiters (CD/12"/3LP, Westbound, 2017)

Paris DJs' history with George Clinton & the Parliament/Funkadelic crew is a very long one… It culminated first in 2006 when we were asked to cook some exclusive remixes (including a mad dub rework from Grant Phabao, approved by the Dr. Funkenstein himself, you can still grab the free download...