Music Is A Mission

To content | To menu | To search

Blockhead - Music By Cavelight

blockhead music by cavelight
the best of 2004 part 2Blockhead - Music By Cavelight
(CD/2xLP/2xCD/3xLP) Ninja Tune ZEN88/ZEN88X/ZENCD88/ZENCD88X, 2004-03-29

Info :
Amis amateurs de trip hop mélancolique, vous êtes choyés. Blockhead, producteur d'instrumentaux hip hop pour Aesop Rock (chez Definitive Jux) ou Slug, a sorti en cette fin mars 2004 "Music By Cavelight", un album parfait pour clore l'hiver tout en douceur. Pas radins, les Ninja Tune en profitent pour vous offrir un titre à télécharger gratuitement (et légalement): "Carnivors Unite", mini-tube à la basse disco-rebondissante... Ça vous plaît? Allez donc faire un tour du côté des MP3 des Kactus Hunters (alias Doctor L. + Niktus ex-F.F.F.), conseil d'ami! Quand à cet album de Blockhead, pendant hip hop de celui -disons folk- de Super Numeri, il raffermit l'idée que chez Ninja Tune, ils aiment de plus en plus les psychédéliques".
Je n'ai pas grand-hose à ajouter à ça, à part peut-être pour préciser qu'il faut faire attention à choper l'édition limitée, qui inclut un disque bonus, avec 5 tracks produit pour Aesop Rock...

blockhead music by cavelight
Blockhead - Music By Cavelight
(CD/2xLP/2xCD/3xLP) Ninja Tune ZEN88/ZEN88X/ZENCD88/ZENCD88X, 2004-03-29

Tracklisting CD :
01. Insomniac Olympics | Go Download MP3
02. Carnivores unite
03. You've Got Maelstrom
04. Sunday Seance
05. A Better Place
06. Road Rage Breakdown
07. Triptych Part 1
08. Triptych Part 2
09. Triptych Part 3
10. Jet Son
11. Breathe And Start
12. Music By Cavelight

Tracklisting 2xLP :
A1. Hello Popartz
A2. You've Got Maelstrom
A3. Carnivores Unite
B1. Sunday Seance
B2. A Better Place
B3. Road rage Breakdown
C1. Triptych Part 1 & 2
C2. Triptych Part 3
C3. Jet Son
C4. Music by Cavelight
D1. Breathe And Start
D2. Bullfight in Ireland
D3. Insomniac Olympics | Go Download MP3

Tracklisting bonus CD on ZENCD88X :
(all tracks are Blockhead-produced Aesop Rock instrumentals)
01. Daylight
02. Nightlight
03. 11.35
04. Maintenance
05. Forest Crunk

Tracklisting bonus LP on ZEN88X :
A1. Daylight
A2. Nightlight
A3. 11.35
B1. Maintenance
B2. Forest Crunk

ZEN88 and ZEN88X was pressed with same sleeve. ZEN88X was added with outside sticker as showned above.

Press Release :
There’s been a tendency in instrumental hip hop towards the epic, the bombastic and the plain tacky, which is why Blockhead is so refreshing. On “Music By Cavelight” the downtown New Yorker with production credits for the likes of Aesop Rock and Slug of Atmosphere, comes through with some of the most sublime, understated, melancholic hip hop you’re likely to hear this year.

From the anti-fanfare of opener “Insomniac Olympics”, through the elegaic strings and slomo disco-bass of “Carnivores Unite” on into the two-minutes-to-midnight atmospherics of “You’ve Got Maelstrom”, the spread out reggaephonics of “A Better Place”, and right on up to the flute and eastern violin anomie of “Music By Cavelight,” this is a record that establishes its own emotional space and holds it from start to finish.

Which is not to say that Blockhead doesn’t have a formidable technique or a vivid imagination to complement the emotion of his music. Check how he structures pieces like “Breathe And Start” or the way he speeds up a vocal a la Wu Tang and then slows it down too to create a series of choral effects throughout his “Triptych”. And listen to his beats – crisp, hard and rock steady. The way hip hop’s supposed to be.

And that’s it, really – Blockhead is an unassuming guy so there’s no point shouting. His music will speak for itself…

Other info:
** A limited initial run of the album will come with a bonus disc of instrumentals of a selection of the Blockhead produced tracks from the three Aesop Rock albums.

*** We are running a competition to find a filmmaker to produce a film to play with the album see

“An atmospheric ride… triumphant” – Straight No Chaser
“Lovely” – Flux
“Bleary-eyed soul, night-long odes to the world-weary cut from vintage blues, soul, folk… surprisingly moving.” – The Wire
“Putting emotion back into music” – Blues & Soul
“Forges a new style all of his own… buy this now!” - iDJ


Stay informed of all things Paris DJs and beyond thanks to our Twitter news

Comments are closed

You might also like

Kologbo - Africa Is The Future

Every 6th of the month is now officially Kologbo day !

Kologbo was Fela's tenor guitar player in Afrika 70. He's been teaching Afrobeat all around the world those last years: Berlin with Afrobeat Academy, Brazil with Abayomy Afrobeat Orquestra Iconili or Amplexos, Chile with Newen Afrobeat, Belgium with World Squad, France with Les Frères Smith or...
Pop Makossa - The Invasive Dance Beat of Cameroon 1976-1984

Various - Pop Makossa - The Invasive Dance Beat of Cameroon 1976-1984 (CD/LP, Analog Africa, 2017)

2017 might be Cameroon's year after its victory at the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations, but German label Analog Africa prove once again they're hands-down the world champions of 1970s African music reissues with this funky and irresistible "Pop Makossa" compilation, focusing on the vintage...