Music Is A Mission

To content | To menu | To search

Antibalas Afrobeat Orchestra - Uprising (live) / on The Afrobeat Sudan Aid Project CD

Afrobeat Sudan Aid Project
Antibalas Afrobeat Orchestra - Uprising (live)
on Various - ASAP - The Afrobeat Sudan Aid Project CD
(CD) Modiba Records, 2004-02

Tracklisting :
01. Akoya Afrobeat Ensemble - Star Wars (Modiba Darfur Remix) | Go Download MP3
02. Ikwunga - Di Bombs
03. Kokolo - More Consideration
04. Keziah Jones - Garan Garan
05. Tony Allen (feat. Fela Kuti) - Progress
06. Dele Sosimi - Turbulent Times
07. Kokolo - Mister Sinister
08. Akoya Afrobeat Ensemble - U.S.A.
09. Wunmi - What A See (Tommy 'Tikk Takk' Piper Mix)
10. Antibalas Afrobeat Orchestra - Uprising (live)
11. Franck Biyong and Massak - Afro Map of Space
12. Baba Olajagun - Libation for Fela

Press Release :
Featuring top musicians from around the world, all the proceeds from ASAP: The Afrobeat Sudan Aid Project will benefit the people suffering in the Darfur region of Sudan. Modiba hopes that this project will also raise awareness about the dire situation in Darfur: by some estimates, over 400,000 people have died by dehydration, disease, and at the hands of the Janjaweed -- armed horsemen supported by the government of Sudan. To accomplish this, Modiba has teamed up with TrueMajority, a grassroots education and advocacy group committed to social and political justice (founded by Ben Cohen of Ben and Jerry's). TrueMajority has already done some incredible work in Darfur, sending camera crews and attempting to bring witnesses into the United States (the US State Department refused entry). Apple Computer has also provided key support, prominently featuring the album and allowing all of the sales from ASAP: The Afrobeat Sudan Aid Project on the iTunes Music Store to go towards aid. Many thanks to all the musicians on ASAP for donating their music.


Stay informed of all things Paris DJs and beyond thanks to our Twitter news

Comments are closed

You might also like

Brownout - Iron Leg

Premiere : Brownout - Iron Leg (Mickey & The Soul Generation cover)

Austin-based Level One Sound run by our esteemed collegue Adrian Quesada has been the home to many great recordings, from The Funk Ark, Brownout, David Garza, Deer Tick, Natalia Clavier, The Echocentrics, The Electric Peanut Butter Co., Third Root, Money Chicha, etc. - A full fledged...
The Frightnrs - Nothing More To Say

The Frightnrs - Nothing More To Say (CD/LP, Daptone, 2016)

An instant classic, this fantastic reggae-rocksteady album strives directly for legendary status. It's the first album from The Frightnrs, a Brooklyn band signed on the Daptone label, but it'll also be the last one, alas. Dan Klein, the singer with the magical tone, died from ALS last june. Produced...