Music Is A Mission

To content | To menu | To search

Ammoncontact - One In An Infinity Of Ways

Ammoncontact One In An Infinity Of Ways
Ammoncontact - One In An Infinity Of Ways
(2xLP/CD) Ninja Tune ZEN99/ZENCD99, 2004-11

CD Tracklisting:
01 Dreamy
02 Healing Vibrations
03 Keepintime
04 Through the Moon
05 Fun is for Funky
06 Wu Woomp Woomp
07 Wu Wu Woomp
08 Good Life to Groove
09 Like Waves Of The Sea
10 Love Letters
11 Ballad Of The Untitled
12 One In An Infinity Of Ways

2xLP Tracklisting:
A1 Dreamy
A2 Healing Vibrations
A3 Infinity Of Rhythm Instrumental
B1 Through the Moon
B2 Fun is for Funky
B3 Wu Woomp Woomp
C1 Wu Wu Woomp
C2 Good Life to Groove
C3 Like Waves Of The Sea
D1 Love Letters
D2 Ballad Of The Untitled
D3 One In An Infinity Of Ways

Press Release :
If you wanted to get deep about Los Angeles duo Ammoncontact, well, hell, you could. You could place them in the underground music tradition of the city that goes back to the sixties and the likes of the Watts Prophets and Horace Tapscott's Arkestra. You could nod to the LA Underground scene of the late eighties and early nineties that bloomed around the Good Life and Project Blowed sessions, inspired by the Freestyle Fellowship and spawning, amongst others, the Pharcyde and Jurassic 5. You can also place them as part of a flourishing current scene involving Build An Ark, Dwight Trible, Sa-Ra, Daedelus and Madlib. But if you get into these things too deep, then you're in danger of losing sight of the fact that Ammoncontact just make superb, minimal, atmospheric, predominantly instrumental, predominantly hip hop-based music. And, when all's said and done, that's what counts – that the neck snaps, that the bass warms your sternum, that it stands as music, not an exercise in influences.

Close friends since high school, Carlos Niño and Fabian Ammon have put out some of the funkiest sample based/live instrumentation beat hybrids of the last couple of years. They've released music through a whole boutique of cool labels including Eastern Developments, Soul Jazz and Plug Research. They have appeared on compilations alongisde the likes of DJ Shadow, Cut Chemist and King Britt. Now they are set to release their full length, "One In An Infinity of Ways," through Ninja Tune.

Flowing from track to track like one of Niño's legendary Spaceways radio shows on KPFK 90.7FM in Los Angeles, "One..." was made on an MPC 2000 and an ASR-10, with a few keyboards and synths. Prefuse 73 has labelled the music "machine funk," which isn't a million miles from where they're at, as long as you remember the playfulness which leads Carlos to claim that "Ammoncontact are all about having fun as well as trying to stretch the boundaries of hip hop." Throw in guests including Daedelus, sometime Scienz of Life and now KMD member Lil Sci, plus musicians from the legendary Build An Ark group (including just a taste of the awesome vocal stylings of Dwight Trible) and you have a record that doesn't need to shout to offer a classy, distinctive – and distinctively Californian – take on what is too often a bloated, melodramatic, attention-seeking genre. Crank it up, sit back and feel it warm you up.


Stay informed of all things Paris DJs and beyond thanks to our Twitter news

Comments are closed

You might also like

Paris DJs Private Record Store new arrivals & back in stock vinyl #1

Our little record store in the north-east of Paris is slowly but surely becoming a thing, with more and more friendly people coming by to grab the vinyl (or CDs) they've reserved on our discogs page. We were known for welcoming bands and artists to "studio time & diner", now diggers...
Funkadelic - Reworked By Detroiters

Funkadelic - Reworked By Detroiters (CD/12"/3LP, Westbound, 2017)

Paris DJs' history with George Clinton & the Parliament/Funkadelic crew is a very long one… It culminated first in 2006 when we were asked to cook some exclusive remixes (including a mad dub rework from Grant Phabao, approved by the Dr. Funkenstein himself, you can still grab the free download...